• It was the 1740th ODI in cricket history.
  • It was India's 473rd and Sri Lanka's 359th match.
  • It was the 68th match between these two sides. The record now reads : India 35, Sri Lanka 28, abandoned 5.
  • Umpires Asoka de Silva and Peter Manuel were officiating in their 10th and 35th match respectively.
  • Saurav Ganguly was missing a ODI for the third time in his career after being suspended by ICC match referee. He could not play against Australia at Kochi on April 1,1998 as he had been suspended by South African match referee Peter Vander Merwe for showing dissent when given out by umpire David Shepherd in India's first innings at Bangalore in 1997-98. Ganguly was also handed over a one-match suspension by Australian match referee Barry Jarman for excessive appealing in the Kanpur ODI against Zimbabwe on December 11,2000.Ganguly thus,could not appear in the following match at Rajkot on December 14,2000. Ganguly was also captaining India at that time. He thus achieved the dubious distinction to become first captain to be suspended for a match on two separate occasions.
  • Rahul Dravid was leading India for the second time in his career. He has now led India to victories in both the matches he has captained, the other occasion being the Rajkot one-dayer against Zimbabwe last year.
  • Sri Lanka's total (183) was its lowest in a completed innings against India in Sri Lanka. The previous lowest was 211 at this same ground on July 25,1993.
  • Sri Lanka's total was the lowest ever total in ODI history to include a century stand for the opening wicket. The previous lowest was 189 by Australia against South Africa at Melbourne on December 9,1993 with Mark Taylor and Michael Slater putting on 105. The following table lists lowest such totals :






    Partnership- Batsmen


    Sri Lanka


    Colombo RPS


    103- Sanath Jayasuriya and Romesh Kaluwitharana



    South Africa



    105- Mark Taylor & Michael Slater



    West Indies



    103- Rick McCosker & Julian Weiner



    West Indies



    129- Mike Brearley & Geoff Boycott






    100- Mike Atherton & Alec Stewart


    South Africa




    101- Andrew Hudson & Kepler Wessels

    Note : Only completed innings have been taken into consideration

    • When Amay Khurasiya and Virender Shewag opened the Indian innings it was the fourth opening combination for India in this tournament and fifth in last five matches. India opened with Ganguly and Tendulkar in the final of Coca Cola Cup at Harare on July 7,2001. With injured Tendulkar out of the team,Yuvraj Singh and Ganguly opened the innings in India's first league match in this tournament against New Zealand on July 20. Ganguly then chose to bat in the middle order in the next match against Sri Lanka on July 22 and Amay Khurasiya and Yuvraj opened the innings. When India played against New Zealand on July 26, Ganguly decided to return to his regular position and opened the innings with Virender Shewag making it five opening combinations in five matches !! .However this is not an Indian record. India played with different opening combinations in seven consecutive matches from January 18,1981 to June 2,1982 and from October 3,1984 to December 27,1984.
  • The wicket of Rahul Dravid was 200th for Chaminda Vaas in ODIs. He was appearing in his 163rd match. Vaas became third Sri Lankan after Muttiah Muralitharan (246 wickets) and Sanath Jayasuriya (202 wickets) and 15th bowler overall to do so. Incidentally he became only the third left arm bowler in ODIs to reach this milestone after Pakistani Wasim Akram (440) and fellow teammate Sanath Jayasuriya (202).
  • VVS Laxman was winning his maiden MoM award in his 24th match.