The Australian Cricket Board today announced the Australian female under-19 team to take on England's under-19 side in two one-day internationals at Bowral in New South Wales on 14 and 15 January.

The Australian female under-19 team is:

Leah Poulton (captain)NSWRHB, LB
Belinda Matheson (vice-captain)QLDRHB, OB
Jodie Purves (deputy vice-captain)QLDRHB, RMF, WKT
Reanna BrowneQLDRHB, LB
Nicole GoodwinNSWRHB, LM
Julie HunterVICRHB, RM
Kasee MarxsenQLDRHB, RM
Emily McIntyreVICRHB, RM
Kirsten PikeQLDRHB, RM
Rikki-Lee RimmingtonQLDRHB, RMF
Julie WoernerSARHB, RM
Mark SorellCoach
Rina HoreManager

It is the first time an international under-19 female series has been staged and provides opportunity for both teams to gain valuable experience at an international level.

The team was announced at the conclusion of the Australian Under-19 Championship - Female in Canberra which saw Queensland claim the title after remaining undefeated in the competition. Australian Capital Territory captain Kris Britt was named Player of the Series.

The 12-player side was selected by former Test player and Australian Chairperson of Selectors Margaret Jennings, and Australian youth selectors Glenys Thatcher and Shane Souter.

Jennings said the selected side would provide good depth and flexibility for the two-match series.

"Throughout the past week at the championship we have seen some talented players coming through the ranks," she said.

"We have picked a strong mix of players that we feel will be capable of performing at the international level.

"There's good variety in the bowling stakes with the inclusion of three spinners adding to the pace attack and matching what we think is a strong batting line-up," said Jennings.

The England under-19 squad, announced in November, arrived in Australia on 1 January to participate as the eighth team in the Australian Under-19 Championship - Female in Canberra.

The England under-19 squad is:

Rosalie BirchBrightonRHB
Sallianne BriggsSheffieldRHB
Leanne DaviesDale WanderersRMF
Stephanie DavisSomersetRMF, RHB
Lydia GreenwayHayesLHB
Isa GuhaReading RidgewayRF, RHB
Jenny GunnThrumptonRF, RHB
Laura HarperSomersetRHB, OB
Laura JoyceSheppartonWKT, RHB
Alexis MannionLoughtonRHB
Kate OakenfoldBrightonRHB, RMF
Alexia WalkerBrightonRHB, RMF
Helen WardlawWakefieldRHB, OB
Jane PowellCoach
Richard BatesManager