Bowlers lead Haryana's fightback on 14-wicket day

A round-up of the opening day of Group C matches in the final round of the 2016-17 Ranji Trophy

Harshal Patel's five-wicket haul led to Karnataka's collapse, Haryana v Karnataka, Ranji Trophy, Group A, Lahli, 2nd day, December 7, 2013

File photo - Harshal Patel took two early wickets to set the tone for Haryana's fightback

Fourteen wickets fell at the Eden Gardens where Haryana reduced Tripura to 70 for 4 after getting bowled out for 231. After Tripura elected to field, their pace trio of Manisankar Murasingh (3 for 53), Sanjay Majumder (3 for 53) and Bunti Roy (2 for 44) shared eight wickets, while left-arm spinner Gurinder Singh took one. Haryana could have been sent packing for a much lower score had it not been for their lower order. Chaitanya Bishnoi, the No. 4, fell to Roy to leave Haryana 103 for 6, having made 52 of those runs himself. The recovery began with Rahul Tewatia's 35 at No. 7. Joginder Sharma made 21 at No. 8, while Haryana's last two, Harshal Patel and captain Mohit Sharma, chipped in with 26 and 39 not out respectively.
Harshal took out Udiyan Bose and Samrat Singha in a new-ball burst to leave Tripura on 22 for 2. Bishal Ghosh was caught behind off Joginder for 36 before Tewatia removed Majumder for a duck on what turned out to be the last ball of the day. Wicketkeeper-batsman Smit Patel was not out on 26.
Goa captain Sagun Kamat scored his third score in excess of hundred this season to take his team to 260 for 6 against Himachal Pradesh in Mumbai. Kamat dominated an opening stand of 47 with Sumiran Amonkar (18) before Snehal Kauthankar (43) joined him for a 70-run stand. It took a run-out to end Kamat's resistance, but not before he had put on a further 95 for the third wicket with Darshan Misal. Kamat's 104 off 170 balls was studded with 11 fours and two sixes. Goa squandered their strong position after Kamat's dismissal, as they lost three more wickets for 31 runs. Misal was unbeaten on 68 at stumps.
Hyderabad's new-ball duo of Ravi Kiran and Chama Milind took nine wickets between them to dismiss Andhra for 190 in Lucknow. In reply, Tanmay Agarwal and Akshath Reddy saw off seven overs as Hyderabad ended the day on 10 for no loss.
Kiran took 4 for 33, while Milind took his maiden first-class five-wicket haul to finish with 5 for 28. The duo's efforts meant Andhra lasted just 59 overs after they were asked to bat. That Andhra got close to 200 was down to half-centuries from Manyala Pranith (63) and Ashwin Hebbar (52), as their 91-run sixth-wicket partnership rescued the team from 80 for 5.
Amandeep Khare struck his second first-class century, but Samiullah Beigh's four-for reduced Chhattisgarh to 217 for 6 against Jammu & Kashmir in Gwalior. J&K elected to field and could only get 60 overs in as the entire first session was ruled out. Once play began, Beigh sent Chhattisgarh's openers back for ducks in the first five overs. Khare then led the repair job, stitching together 84 for the third wicket with Anupam Toppo (40) and 120 for the fourth with Ashutosh Singh. Beigh troubled Chhattisgarh again by taking out Khare for 106, before sending back a third batsman - Avnish Dhaliwal - for a duck. Manoj Singh, the wicketkeeper, fell off the last ball of the penultimate over, but Ashutosh stayed unbeaten on 41, along with Ajay Mandal.
Kerala pacer Athif Bin Ashraf took three early wickets on first-class debut to leave Services 103 for 4 on a 42-over day at the Karnail Singh Stadium in Delhi. Ashraf sent back Nakul Verma, Ravi Chauhan and Amit Pachhara for single digits to leave Services 22 for 3. That became 43 for 4 when Basil Thampi bowled Irfan Khan for 15. Anshul Gupta, the Services captain and opener, stayed not out on 52 and had Shamsher Yadav on 23 for company.