Ireland have called up Craig Young for their first squad since the retirement of Trent Johnston, with 15 players due to travel to the Caribbean for three limited-overs internationals against West Indies, as well as in the domestic 50-over competition.

Ed Joyce will be rested for the Regional Super50 but the squad is otherwise at full strength. Andrew White misses the opportunity to become Ireland's most-capped player, with Andrew McBrine favoured in the shorter formats, while there is a return for Andrew Poynter, who last featured for Ireland in 2012.

Young, who has played once for Ireland previously in the Intercontinental Cup, has spent some time over the winter working with Craig McDermott, Australia's bowling coach, and his extra pace saw him included.

"Craig has been in Brisbane for the past eight weeks working with bowling coach 'Billy' McDermott," Ireland's coach, Phil Simmons, said.

"The feedback from Australia on Craig and the other two guys - Graeme McCarter and Peter Chase - has been excellent. They've impressed everyone with their commitment and attitude, and they've all got big futures. We felt that Craig had the edge in terms of extra pace and that would be a useful asset in the West Indies. He also had a very successful debut against Scotland last year, when he took six wickets and bowled pretty hostile spells."

Joyce's involvement will be limited to the ODI and two T20s, ahead of a busy season. The Sussex captain will likely be part of the squad for the World Twenty20, in Bangladesh in March and April, while Ireland also welcome Sri Lanka for two ODIs in May.

"The selectors and Ed agreed that this competition was a good opportunity to rest him with a gruelling schedule ahead in 2014," Simmons said. "It's nearly ten months of full-on cricket and we've got to be careful with Ed's fitness."

Ireland will play three group games in the Regional Super50, all at the Queen's Park Oval in Trinidad, with Guyana their first opponents on January 31. The final will take place on February 15, with Ireland then facing West Indies in Jamaica four days later.

Ireland squad: William Porterfield (capt) (Warwickshire), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Ed Joyce (Sussex)*, John Mooney (North County), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Niall O'Brien (Leicestershire), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Gary Wilson (Surrey), Craig Young (Bready)

*Only for international matches