Andrew de Boorder: rewarded for consistent performances © Getty Images

New Zealand have announced a 13-man Under-19 squad for the home series against India Under-19s beginning on January 21.

The squad for three 'Test' matches and three limited-over games was picked by Dayle Hadlee, the convener of the selection panel, coach Dipak Patel, Lance Cairns and Kaushik Patel. They also selected five reserves.

"Two of the batsmen have dominated at the National Under-19 Tournament, scoring prolifically," said Hadlee. "Andrew De Boorder has accumulated 516 runs at an impressive average of 258, including a double-century, a century and three half-centuries in five innings. Michael Taiaroa has scored three centuries in six innings, totaling 456 runs at 91.2.

"The experienced Tim Southee will lead the bowling attack and Bradley Cachopa will keep wickets, having displayed his allround skills after averaging 77 with the bat."

The squad will meet at New Zealand Cricket's High Performance Centre at Lincoln on January 15 before playing a warm-up match against a Canterbury XI at Garrick Park on January 18 and 19.

Squad Corey Anderson (Canterbury), Dean Bartlett (Auckland), Trent Boult (Northern Districts), Bradley Cachopa (Auckland), Andrew De Boorder (Auckland), Greg Morgan (Auckland), Timothy Muir (Canterbury), Jeet Raval (Auckland), Bradley Rodden (Otago), Timothy Southee (Northern Districts); Michael Taiaroa (Central Districts), Kane Williamson (Northern Districts); George Worker (Central Districts)

Bryce Grant (Central Districts), Ronald Karaitiana (Wellington), Michael Dodunski (Northern Districts); Ben Langrope (Canterbury), Hamish Malcolm (Central Districts)