At Kuala Lumpur, September 24, 2006 (day/night). Australia won by 127 runs. Toss: Australia.

There had been many fluctuations during the course of the tournament, but the final followed that most common of cricket's recent scripts - a sweeping Australian victory. It was achieved despite a tedious start, and the puzzling omission of wrist-spinner Hogg on a worn-out wicket that turned and kept low throughout. With that in mind, the Australians (having won the toss for the fifth time out of five) decided to ignore the powerplays in the early overs, instead preserving wickets for a late charge. Katich was particularly inert, but Martyn produced a cultured innings and Symonds a destructive one after playing himself in. Needing to start well, West Indies were undone by Lee's first ball, which swerved unerringly into Gayle's hindmost toe for an lbw that looked obvious... until, too late for umpire Asad Rauf, replays showed the bowler's front foot sneaking over the crease. Morton hung in at the expense of scoring, and when Bracken straightened one into him he had been in for 31 balls, a new record for a one-day duck. Lara departed to a dubious caught-behind - this time there was no recall from umpire Benson - and the rest melted away against Lee, lauded later by Ponting as the world's best one-day bowler.

Man of the Match: B. Lee.

Man of the Series: B. Lee.