Faf du Plessis and Dane van Niekerk, the South Africa men's and women's captains, were named the CSA Cricketers of the Year on Saturday. They were declared winners in the 'Players' Player of the Year' category as well.

Du Plessis also scooped the ODI-Cricketer-of-the-Year Award while fast-bowling allrounder Marizanne Kapp bagged the corresponding honour in the women's category. Quinton de Kock and David Miller were named the men's Test and T20I Cricketers of the Year respectively.

Kagiso Rabada, meanwhile, emerged as the SA Fans Player of the Year. The CSA Delivery of the Year went to Vernon Philander for his dismissal of Azhar Ali during Pakistan's first innings in the third Test, in Johannesburg, earlier this year.

Other winners included quick bowler Shabnim Ismail, the T20I Women's Player of the Year; Tumi Sekhukhune, the International Women's Newcomer of the Year and Rassie van der Dussen, the International Men's Newcomer of the Year, who averaged 73 with a strike rate of 81 in ODIs and 133 in T20Is in his debut season, and was among the few standout performers in South Africa's underwhelming 2019 ODI World Cup campaign.

Dale Steyn, who became South Africa's leading wicket-taker in Tests on the opening morning of the Boxing Day Test in Centurion last year, was honoured with the KFC Streetwise Award for accomplishing the feat and for being among the top 10 wicket-takers of all time, in Test cricket.

Shaun George was named the CSA Umpire of the Year for the third year in a row. The honour in the 'Umpires' Umpire of the Year' category went to Bongani Jele.

Speaking about the winners, CSA chief executive Thabang Moroe said: "Faf and Dane have both had very good years, both as contributors in their specific disciplines and also in the leadership qualities they bring to our two senior national sides. Just how much Dane means to our women's team became evident when she was ruled out of action for a considerable period of time through injury.

"Both our Standard Bank Proteas and our Women's Proteas are well ranked both as teams and individuals across the various formats. I must particularly highlight the Proteas first ever away ODI bilateral series win in Australia. It is quite remarkable that over the past few years Faf has led the Proteas to home and away ODI Series wins over Australia as well as our first ever home Test series win against the same opponents.

"It is also a very special moment for the CSA Family to honour our leading Test wicket-taker of all time, Dale Steyn, with the KFC Streetwise award. He has been a wonderful brand ambassador for both CSA and the Proteas for well over a decade and he has not only been a great leader of the Proteas attack but has also played a key role as mentor of the next generation."

Recipients of CSA 2019 Awards:
Men's Cricketer of the Year: Faf du Plessis, SA Women's Cricketer of the Year: Dane van Niekerk; Test Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock; ODI Cricketer of the Year: Faf du Plessis; Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year: Marizanne Kapp; T20 International Cricketer of the Year: David Miller; Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year: Shabnim Ismail; International Men's Newcomer of the Year: Rassie van der Dussen; International Women's Newcomer of the Year: Tumi Sekhukhune