Ajit Wadekar, the former India captain, will be the recipient of the BCCI's CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award. Wadekar will receive the award, which comprises a trophy, citation and Rs. 15 lakhs (approx. $ 30,000), at the annual BCCI awards ceremony in Chennai on December 10.

Having made his Test debut in 1966 under MAK Pataudi, Wadekar enjoyed instant success as captain when he led India to maiden Test series wins in West Indies and England in 1971 in his first two assignments. He won his third series as captain too, beating England when they came to India in 1972-73.

The 1974 tour of England brought a premature end to his career at the age of 33 as India were thumped 0-3, which included getting bowled out for 42 at Lord's. Wadekar played just one more first-class game after that tour and retired, having represented India in 37 Tests, and scored 2113 runs. He also scored 15,380 runs from 237 first-class matches, and led Bombay to Ranji Trophy triumphs in 1968-69, 1969-70, 1971-72 and 1972-73.

Wadekar was part of India's first overseas Test series win, against New Zealand, in 1968. He was also the manager of the Indian team from 1992-93 to 1995-96, and chairman of selectors in 1998-99.

The other notable recipients are Jhulan Goswami - for the Best Woman Cricketer of 2010-11 - and Rahul Dravid for the Polly Umrigar Award in recognition of his Test batting over the year.

Other awards

Madhavrao Scindia award for the highest scorer in the Ranji Trophy 2010-11 - S Badrinath
Highest wicket-taker in Ranji Trophy - Bhargav Bhatt
Lala Amarnath Award for the best allrounder of Ranji Trophy - Iqbal Abdulla
Best Umpire in domestic cricket - S Ravi
Best Under-19 cricketer - Avi Barot
Best Under-22 cricketer - Suryakumar Yadav
Best allrounder in domestic limited-overs - Sumit Narwal
Best woman cricketer (junior) - Mona Meshram