At Port Elizabeth, April 26, 2009. Delhi Daredevils won by six wickets. Toss: Royal Challengers Bangalore. Royal Challengers Bangalore 149-7 (20 overs) (K. P. Pietersen 37, L. R. P. L. Taylor 31, M. V. Boucher 36); Delhi Daredevils 150-4 (19.2 overs) (T. M. Dilshan 67*). Delhi Daredevils 2 pts. Man of the Match: T. M. Dilshan.
Although Rahul Dravid was back in India for the birth of his second child, and Kallis fell to the first ball of the match, Bangalore still looked set for a big score as Pietersen finally got going. But he fell trying an audacious switch-hit against Vettori, and the other batsmen failed to accelerate in the second half, scoring 75 in the last ten overs - one more than in the first ten. Then some poor outcricket ensured Bangalore's third successive defeat: Delhi started the 17th over still needing 43, but in that over Robin Uthappa misjudged a catch at long-on - it went for four - then next ball Prabhu Appanna failed to get behind a ball at deep midwicket, and it squeezed through his legs for another boundary to put Delhi back in charge.