Kieran Powell takes over from Kirk Edwards as captain of the West Indies A one-day team, for the tour of India in September. Edwards will continue to lead the team in the first-class format on the tour.

Powell, the opening batsman who has played 15 Tests and 19 ODIs, is making his way back from injury. He had to sit out the Champions Trophy and the home series against Pakistan, before making a return to international cricket in the recently-concluded Caribbean Premier League.

Powell said he was up for the challenges the tour would provide: "I played in India before and it's a great place for cricket with the crowds, the atmosphere and the level of competition. We anticipate a good, competitive series. I'm eager and confident as we prepare for the tour and I know all the other players are as well."

West Indies A's previous series was at home, against Sri Lanka A in June, when they drew the unofficial Tests and won in both limited-overs formats. Edwards had led the team in the four-day and 50-over matches in that series. Edwards said he was confident the side could do as well in the India series: "As one of the most experienced members of the squad, I know I will have a very important leadership role to perform on and off the field. We played well against Sri Lanka A earlier this year and we expect to do very well against India A as well."

India and West Indies A teams had previously met last summer, when India toured the Caribbean. Then, the hosts won the unofficial Tests and the limited-overs series finished all square. Now, West Indies will play one T20 and three ODIs, followed by the first-class games, in India.

First-class squad: Kirk Edwards (capt), Kieran Powell (vice-capt), Kraigg Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Miguel Cummins, Narsingh Deonarine, Assad Fudadin, Jahmar Hamilton, Delorn Johnson, Leon Johnson, Nikita Miller, Veerasammy Permaul, Shane Shillingford, Chadwick Walton

Limited-overs squad: Kieran Powell (capt), Veerasammy Permaul (vice-capt), Ronsford Beaton, Nkrumah Bonner, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Miguel Cummins, Narsingh Deonarine, Kirk Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Leon Johnson, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Andre Russell, Devon Thomas