Martin Saggers, the former Kent and England seamer, is one of two new umpires added to the ECB's list of reserve first-class umpires for next season. Paul Baldwin is the other while there are no additions to main list, despite the retirements of John Holder and Mike Harris during 2009.

Saggers retired from first-class cricket at the end of the 2009 season having already acquired his umpiring qualifications in 2004-05. Since gaining the qualification he found time to umpire between playing but is now presented with further umpiring opportunities.

Baldwin, meanwhile, has been a member of the ICC Associate and Affiliates Panel since its inception in 2005. He developed his umpiring in Germany under the guidance of the ICC-Europe region before moving back to England for the 2009 season where his impressive performances throughout the season earned him a place on the reserve list.

Chris Kelly, the ECB umpires' manager, said: "We are pleased to welcome Martin and Paul onto the reserve list, which increases the number of umpires available at this level. There are now plenty of opportunities for them to demonstrate their officiating skills within our domestic game and to aspire to being at the forefront of officiating the sport."

Richard Holdsworth, regional development manager ICC-Europe, said: "Paul has been involved in the ICC Development Programme since 2002, and during that time has excelled with his knowledge and skills in umpiring, not only continuing his own education but also choosing to educate others. He has stood in a significant number of ICC European and global matches and tournaments, and his experience was duly acknowledged when he was selected on the ICC Associate and Affiliate International panel in 2005. It is great credit to Paul's commitment to the programme that he has been selected on the ECB first-class reserve list."

Umpires Full List for 2010

Rob Bailey, Neil Bainton, Martin Bodenham, Nick Cook, Nigel Cowley, Barry Dudleston, Jeff Evans, Steve Garratt, Michael Gough, Ian Gould, Peter Hartley, Vanburn Holder, Richard Illingworth, Trevor Jesty, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Jeremy Lloyds, Neil Mallender, David Millns, Tim Robinson, George Sharp, John Steele, Peter Willey.

Umpires Reserve List for 2010

Paul Baldwin, Keith Coburn, Ismail Dawood, Mark Eggleston, Steve Gale, Andy Hicks, Graham Lloyd, Steve Malone, Steve O'Shaughnessy, Martin Saggers.