Maddy Green and Katie Perkins have made it to the New Zealand women's squad that will take on Australia in the Rose Bowl series later this month. New Zealand Cricket announced the 14-player squad for the series in Australia, which will include five Twenty20s and three ODIs, starting from January 20.

Suzie Bates, who has taken over from the retired Aimee Watkins as captain, will be assisted by Amy Satterthwaite. Rachel Candy, a medium pacer who last played for New Zealand in 2008, and Morna Nielsen, who was not in the squad that played the Natwest quadrangular series in England last summer, have made returns. The debutants, Green and Perkins, had done well in New Zealand's domestic Twenty20 tournament.

"The squad has been picked on the back of a hard-fought domestic competition," national selection manager Kim Littlejohn said. "Top order batsman Maddy Green has been on the radar for some time and deserves her chance after impressing for the Auckland Hearts in the Action Cricket Twenty20 competition, where she has hit 150 runs at an average of 37.50.

"Katie Perkins also demanded a spot in the squad with strong performances in the domestic competition. In seven Twenty20 innings Perkins has hit 126 runs and only been dismissed once. Her batting along with her world-class fielding has played a major part in the success of the Hearts this season."

Squad: Suzie Bates (capt), Amy Satterthwaite (vice-capt), Kate Broadmore, Rachel Candy, Lucy Doolan, Maddy Green, Frances Mackay, Katey Martin, Sara McGlashan, Morna Nielsen, Katie Perkins, Liz Perry, Lea Tahuhu, Sian Ruck