At Bloemfontein, April 19. South Africa won by five wickets. Toss: South Africa.

At the start of this match, Sri Lanka were level on points with Pakistan. But they threw away their chance of entering the final by crashing for 105 in just 36 overs. Telemachus and Pollock grabbed four wickets for 12 runs and Sri Lanka, tied up by tight bowling and electrifying fielding, never really recovered from the shock. Though the South African openers went early, Kallis and Cullinan made sure of victory. It was all over by 3.35 p.m., so, to entertain the disappointed crowd, the teams staged a double-wicket contest. South Africa won this, too, Crookes and Klusener beating Dharmasena and Chandana.

Man of the Match: R. Telemachus. Attendance: 11,663.