Thailand Cricket Association official, David Dufall, reports on the finals of Thailand's two domestic competitions:

"The TCA played out the 1999/2000 season on the Asian Institute of Technology pitch with the finals of the 25 & 50-over Leagues last weekend. ICC and TISC playing in both finals, shared the spoils - TISC taking out the 25-over final while ICC were victors in the 50-over match.

25 Over Final

In a match ICC expected to win with such a strong batting line-up, fortunes waxed and waned when first the batsmen got on top, only to see the bowlers of each side take command in the latter stages of each innings.

TISC, batting first, put together a well compiled 168 runs all out, with the last wicket falling in the 25th over. After a sound opening partnership of 55 between Shar Viral (25) and Sailesh (22), and a 3rd wicket stand of 60 from Ashok (22) and 'man-of-the-match' Virender who retired on 51, TISC were able to push their score along despite losing a steady procession of tail-end wickets.

Bowling honours for ICC were shared with Dheraj, Anil Tanwani, Imran Khan and Wiwek each collecting two wickets.

ICC started their chase for victory with a very steady and patient 68-run opening partnership between Anil Tanwani (25) and Sanjeev (43) and with great support from Vikram (33), looked to have the game in the bag with six overs to go, five wickets in hand and needing only 37 runs. Persistent TISC bowling and defensive field settings however, restricted ICC scoring ability while wickets tumbled and they were left 9 runs short of their target when ismissed for 159 in the 24th over. Congratulations to TISC on their win.

Virender who finished with 5 for 38, was the chief destroyer for TISC with K.Singh chiming in with two late wickets.

50 over Final

ICC batting first, were in early trouble after the 3rd over at 2 for 12 but recovered well due to a sound 3rd-wicket 94-run partnership between Anil Tanwani (52) and Wiwek who retired ill during his innings but returned later to finish with a sound 71 not out. With the score at 2-106, Dheraj joined Anil T. and he proceeded to attack the bowling with some lusty hitting enabling the pair to add 116 before Anil was dismissed. Dheraj went on to compile 91before he was caught on the fence in the 36th over, having hit 7 sixes and 8 fours. The tail-enders, with Wiwek's return, added a further 71 runs to finish their innings with a very creditable 9 for 293.

When introduced to the TISC attack, Vanchai had immediate effect and finished with 4 for 34 while Virender took 2 for 51 to share the bowling honours.

TISC set about their run-chase with great purpose and after the 31st over were 3 for 172 thanks to the efforts of Viral (35), Virender (85 from 77 balls) and Sailesh (30), but then proceeded to lose 7 for 64 when Vikram (3 for 32) and Anil Tanwani (3 for 59)combined to restrict the TISC scoring rate with some tight bowling. When the last man was run out in the 44th over, TISC were left with a score of 236 all out leaving ICC deserving winners of the TCA's premier League.

Despite very good all-round performances from Virender and Anil T., Dheraj was adjudged 'man-of-the-match' for his hard-hitting 91 from 68 balls and his 1-30 from 7 overs."