The mix up
The first time Rohit Sharma hit a double-hundred in an ODI, he had been late to respond to Virat Kohli's call for a run, and effectively ran Kohli out. The pair put on 202 together this time, but Kohli was out in the same fashion again. Having hit the ball aerially towards long-on in the 39th over, Kohli set off quickly, but sensed some hesitation from Rohit about the second. That prompted a stutter from Kohli, and the throw came in to have him well short.

The shot
There were many astonishing strokes during Rohit's epic onslaught, but perhaps none more so than the six he hit off Nuwan Kulasekara at the end of the 48th over. Moving across to the off side, Rohit picked up a half-volley that was still half-a-metre wide of him, and through some incredible manipulation of his bat and body, turned his wrists and managed to whip the ball powerfully enough, and with enough elevation, to comfortably clear the wide long-on boundary.

The clanger
Thisara Perera had been Sri Lanka's star player in the series against Pakistan, but India has not been good to him. He has had a mediocre series with bat and ball, but perhaps what he will rue most is his moment of bad judgement in the fifth over on Thursday. Having been muzzled in the previous over, Rohit attempted to crash Shaminda Eranga over the offside field, but the ball seamed away and collected a thick edge. The ball headed towards Thisara at third man, at a comfortable height, but he overran the ball slightly, and in his attempts to readjust, managed to lose his balance, and spilt the catch. Rohit would go on to score 260 more.

The stumping
Angelo Mathews had come down the pitch to launch Akshar Patel over the boundary on the fourth ball of the 29th over, but he was out when he attempted to repeat the shot next ball, thanks to some clever bowling from Akshar and quick work from wicketkeeper Robin Uthappa. Akshar perhaps saw Mathews advancing and fired in a short ball, getting it to bounce high enough to hit Mathew's glove, even as the batsman attempted to bail out of the stroke. The ball then bounced once, on around the popping crease, and was collected by Uthappa, who had taken the bails off long before Mathews had regained his ground.

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo's Sri Lanka correspondent. @andrewffernando