Sulieman Benn has been cut from the squad ©

Nikita Miller has been rewarded for a strong domestic season with a belated call-up to the West Indies squad for the remaining two one-day internationals against Australia. Miller was one of three uncapped players to be promoted to the 13-man group after the team made a disappointing start to the series, which they have already lost.

The left-arm spinner Miller was the leading wicket-taker during the first-class season with 42 victims and he has replaced Sulieman Benn, who struggled to have any impact in the opening ODIs. Kemar Roach, the fast bowler who made his Twenty20 international debut last month, has also been included along with the Jamaica batsman Shawn Findlay.

Patrick Browne was left out of the squad after failing to impress during his solitary outing in Grenada, while Kieron Pollard lost his position following a terrible shot selection that brought his dismissal in the second game. Jerome Taylor was left out as he battles a shoulder injury but West Indies resisted the temptation to rest Chris Gayle and Ramnaresh Sarwan, who both have groin complaints, or Shivnarine Chanderpaul, who has a niggling calf injury.

Australia have already secured a 3-0 lead and will probably make changes to their side to give unused players such as David Hussey and Stuart Clark opportunities before the tour winds up. The final two games are to be played on Friday and Sunday in St Kitts and John Dyson, the West Indies coach, expects a lift from his men.

"On Sunday I really noticed a drop-off," Dyson told AAP. "We've talked about it before, we've had a long string of injuries and that has taken its toll on us fairly badly.

"We've still got players playing with niggles. Sure, that impacts on the over all fielding effort. It was a disappointing result. It's been a disappointing one-day series. The Test series was really quite exciting and quite competitive. The Twenty20 was a one-off, and this series for us has been disappointing."

Squad Chris Gayle (capt), Xavier Marshall, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Andre Fletcher, Dwayne Bravo, Shawn Findlay, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Darren Sammy, Nikita Miller, Kemar Roach, Daren Powell, Fidel Edwards.