MS Dhoni was wrongly dismissed off a no-ball in the first innings of the second Test between West Indies and India, as the incorrect replay was shown to the third umpire. The ICC has confirmed the error by the host broadcaster, IMG Media, which the match referee Chris Broad said was an "honest" mistake.

Dhoni had chipped a catch to mid-on off Fidel Edwards in the 59th over. After Dhoni completed the stroke, the on-field umpire Ian Gould signalled that the bowler had overstepped and then asked the third umpire Gregory Brathwaite to verify the decision. The replays showed that Edwards had a good portion of his foot behind the crease, prompting Brathwaite to deem it a legitimate delivery, and Dhoni was ruled out.

It later emerged that Brathwaite had been shown the wrong replay and that the delivery that led to Dhoni's dismissal should have been called a no-ball.

"The host broadcaster for this series, IMG Media, acknowledged the mistake and has apologised," Broad said. "Having looked into the situation, I am satisfied it was an unfortunate but honest mistake in what is a tense and live environment."

Broad also said there was no scope for redressing the mistake. "Seeing as the game has continued, clearly there is no opportunity to reverse the decision. We are forced now put it behind us and move on with the remainder of the match."

IMG acknowledged the error and tried to explain how it occurred. "IMG Media takes its responsibilities on this matter very seriously," their spokesman said. "This was a case of human error, compounded by a senior replay operative having to return home at very short notice."

Dhoni had the misfortune of being dismissed off a no-ball in the second innings of the first Test as well, when the umpires missed the bowler Devendra Bishoo cutting the return crease with his back leg.

In its release, the ICC pointed out that if this series had the Decision Review System, an ICC official would have been present to monitor the broadcast.