Yuvraj scores ton as Punjab pile on runs

A round-up of the Ranji Trophy Group A matches on December 29, 2014

Saurashtra 27 for 0 trail Punjab 659 for 7 dec (Mandeep 235, Yuvraj 182, Gurkeerat 101) by 632 runs
A double-hundred from Mandeep Singh, and centuries from Yuvraj Singh and Gurkeerat Singh steered Punjab to a commanding 659 for 7 declared against Saurashtra in Rajkot.
Mandeep, who began the day at 154, scored his second first-class double-century, going past his previous best of 211, before he was dismissed for 235. His innings came off 334 deliveries with 24 fours and three sixes. Yuvraj, his batting partner from the first day, scored his third hundred in as many games, and the fourth-wicket partnership between the two yielded 379 runs. After Mandeep and Yuvraj were dismissed, Gurkeerat boosted the score further with an unbeaten 135-ball 101,helping the side declare their innings at 659.
Gujarat 34 for 1 trail Delhi 425 for 6 dec (Chand 105, Sehwag 105) by 391 runs
A century from Virender Sehwag led Delhi to a position of strength, helping them declare at 425 for 6 on the second day against Gujarat. In reply, Gujarat scored 34 for 1 by close of play.
Unmukt Chand and Gautam Gambhir had laid down a solid foundation for Delhi with their 171-run opening partnership. Chand, who resumed on 97, scored his sixth first-class century before falling in the 70th over of the day. Sehwag and Mithun Manhas consolidated Delhi's position with a swift 106-run, third-wicket partnership. Sehwag was finally dismissed for 105 off 148 balls with 14 fours and Sumit Narwal added quick runs to the score with 37 off 28 balls, before Delhi declared at 425 for 6.
Shivam Sharma dismissed Samit Gohel for 15, towards the end of the day.
Odisha 232 for 9 (Rout 39, N Behera 39, J Yadav 6-91) lead Haryana 127 by 105 runs
Haryana offspinner Jayant Yadav took his second six-for of the season to leave Odisha at 232 for 9, limiting their first-innings lead on the second day to 105.
Resuming on a score of 39 for 0, the Odisha openers Girjia Rout and Natraj Behera, extended their partnership to 57 runs, before Behera fell for 39. Rout was dismissed for the same score by Yadav and thereon, Odisha lost wickets in clusters, as Yadav and Mohit Sharma ensured partnerships did not flourish. Yadav took 6 for 91, while Mohit finished with 3 for 38.
Rajasthan 188 (Saxena 61, Gupta 41, Thakur 5-50) trail Vidarbha 296 (Shrivastava 130, Pankaj 5-109) by 108 runs
Left-arm pacer Ravikumar Thakur's maiden first-class five-for and a three-wicket haul from Shrikant Wagh skittled Rajasthan out for 188, giving Vidarbha a 108-run first-innings lead.
Vidarbha started the day on 236 for 6 and, guided by Shalabh Shrivastava, the last four wickets extended the score to 296. Pankaj Singh, who ran through the top order on the first day, picked up his fifth wicket.
Thakur and Wagh then combined to reduce Rajasthan to 64 for 4 before Vineet Saxena and Arjit Gupta led a brief revival with a 65-run, fifth-wicket partnership. Saxena's dismissal for 61 started the slide that eventually led to the side folding for 188.