In a bid to strengthen their side after their 1-4 series loss to Afghanistan in the UAE earlier this month, Zimbabwe have included allrounder Sean Williams and batsman Cephas Zhuwao in their squad for the World Cup qualifiers.

Williams and Zhuwao, who weren't part of the squad in the UAE, will replace allrounder Ryan Burl and batsman Tarisai Musakanda. Burl had managed only 23 runs in four innings one wicket in 10.4 overs while Musakanda had scored 20 runs in two innings.

Williams missed the ODIs against Afghanistan and Zimbabwe A's home series against Kenya due to a finger injury he sustained during training in January. He last featured in an ODI during the tour of Sri Lanka in July 2017.

Zhuwao, who last played for the country in 2011, made a strong case to be considered. He had scored 235 runs in four one-dayers for Zimbabwe A, including 131 in the opening game, against Kenya. Recently, he hit a career-best 265 against Rhinos in the Logan Cup, Zimbabwe's first-class tournament.

The top two teams from the 2018 World Cup Qualifiers will join the top-eight sides in the 2019 World Cup in England and Wales. Zimbabwe will open their campaign against Nepal at the Queens Sports Club on March 4.

Squad: Graeme Cremer (capt), Tendai Chatara, Tendai Chisoro, Craig Ervine, Kyle Jarvis, Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Peter Moor, Blessing Muzarabani, Sikandar Raza, Brendan Taylor, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams and Cephas Zhuwao.