Imparja Cup 2009-10

Western Australia claim Imparja Cup

Cricinfo staff

February 14, 2010

Text size: A | A

Daniel Christian was not out on 94 in South Australia's total of 203, Queensland v South Australia, Ford Ranger Cup, Brisbane, December 5, 2007
Dan Christian will help out the Under-23 squad in their series against Papua New Guinea © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Daniel Christian | Bruce Yardley
Teams: Australia

Western Australia won their first Imparja Cup when they beat New South Wales in the final of the national indigenous carnival in Alice Springs on Saturday. The team, which was coached by the former Test spinner Bruce Yardley, was unbeaten in the week-long event and their allrounder Dane Ugle was named Player of the Tournament.

New South Wales were dismissed for 110, with Tyson Jolly making 30, and Western Australia lost five wickets in the chase after being led by Michael Bailey's 33. The New South Wales women were more successful as they remained unbeaten throughout the competition.

The Black Caps Honour Squad for the tournament was named along with the Under-23 Indigenous Development Squad at the Imparja Cup dinner on Friday night. The national youth selector Ray Bright was chairman of selectors for both squads.

The Under-23 squad will take on the Papua New Guinea national team in a series later in the year. The squad contains two over-23 leadership players in South Australia's Dan Christian and Tasmania's Bernie Lamont, while two players in the state system, Josh Lalor and Preston White, were also included.

The Black Caps Honour Squad John Halloran (NSW), Dane Ugle (WA), Bernie Lamont TAS), Liam Ugle (WA), Joel Liddle (ACT), Andrew Gordon (NSW), Lewis Upton (WA), Chris Swain (QLD), Michael Coulter (NSW), Julien Feehan (WA), Peter Thomas (SA), Domenic Croft (SA).

Under-23 Indigenous Development Squad Dane Ugle (WA), Kris Halloran (NSW), Michael Bailey (QLD), Darcy Short (NT), Cameron Trask (QLD), Lewis Upton (WA), Chris Swain (QLD), Trent Clemments (QLD), Michael Coulter (NSW), Julien Feehan (WA), Domenic Croft (SA), Josh Lalor (NSW) , Preston White (QLD) , Dan Christian (SA), Bernie Lamont (TAS).

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
CA XI v Indians at Adelaide - Nov 24-25
CA XI 219 Indians 55/1
NSW v South Aust at Sydney
Nov 25-28, 2014 (10:30 local | 23:30 GMT | 18:30 EST | 17:30 CST | 15:30 PST)
Victoria v West Aust at Melbourne
Nov 25-28, 2014 (10:30 local | 23:30 GMT | 18:30 EST | 17:30 CST | 15:30 PST)
Queensland v Tasmania at Brisbane
Nov 25-28, 2014 (10:00 local | 00:00 GMT | 19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST)
CA XI v Indians at Adelaide
Nov 28-29, 2014 (10:30 local | 00:00 GMT | 19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days