World Cricket League March 13, 2011

WCL Division 2 to kick off April 8

The ICC World Cricket League Division 2 (WCL Div 2) will feature six teams that will play each other once each, with the top two teams qualifying for the final

The ICC World Cricket League Division 2 (WCL Div 2) will feature six teams that will play each other once each, with the top two teams qualifying for the final. The tournament will be held in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, next month.

The six teams represent Uganda, Namibia, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Hong Kong, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Bermuda, and will contest the league from April 8 to April 15. The top four sides will be eligible to receive dedicated ICC High Performance Grants, and two of the top four, as determined by the ICC Development Committee, will join the eight-team ICC Intercontinental Cup that will commence later in 2011.

The sides that finish fifth and sixth will be relegated to Pepsi ICC WCL Div. 3.

The games for the tournament will be spread across three grounds– Dubai Sports City Stadium (DSC) and the two ICC Global Cricket Academy Ovals (GCA 1 and 2) in Dubai Sports City.


April 8– UAE v Namibia (DSC Stadium); PNG v Bermuda (GCA 1); Uganda v Hong Kong (GCA 2) April 9 – Uganda v Namibia (DSC Stadium); Bermuda v Hong Kong (GCA 1); UAE v PNG (GCA 2) April 10 – Rest/Reserve Day April 11 – Bermuda v Uganda (DSC Stadium); UAE v Hong Kong (GCA 1); Namibia v PNG (GCA 2) April 12– Hong Kong v PNG (DSC Stadium); UAE v Uganda (GCA 1); Namibia v Bermuda (GCA 2) April 13 – Rest/Reserve Day April 14– UAE v Bermuda (DSC Stadium); Hong Kong v Namibia (GCA 1); PNG v Uganda (GCA 2) April 15 – Final (DSC Stadium); third/fourth play-off (GCA 1); fifth/sixth play-off (GCA 2)

Tariq Engineer is a former senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • fanedlive on March 31, 2011, 1:59 GMT

    @Jashan(India)- I'd go for 3 Tiers. Top 5 teams = Tier 1, Next 4 sides Tier 2, Zim + Ireland + Afghans = Tier 3. (12 sides in all). Tier 1 plays each other over 4/5 Test series, Tier 2 Plays each other over 4/5 Test series. Tier 1 v Tier 2 over 2/3 Test series, with Tier 2 having more tests in a home series (3), 2 away. Tier 3 plays each other in 1 & 2 Test series, & can play Tier 2 in one-off test matches. I would add some of the sides you mentioned "Ken, Scot, Neth, Can, Nam, UAE, Ugan & PNG" as part of Tier 3s FTP - these matches would only be 1st class.

  • fanedlive on March 24, 2011, 2:31 GMT

    The PNGCB have done very well to bring PNG Cricket to such a level and we hope PNG can go all the way. Well done ICC for such tournaments.

  • fanedlive on March 22, 2011, 17:54 GMT

    It is high time for a 2 Tier Test Teams. The top 10 teams should be given Tier 1 status and next 10 teams should be given Tier 2 Status. All the tests between team of equal status would go into the records. A country with Tier 1 v Tier 2 would go as first class. Run this cycle for 4 years, where every team in Tier 1 & 2 plays each other atleast once for a 3 test series. After 4 years bottom 2 play a Test Championship against Top 2 of Tier 2 and the top 2 go into Tier 1 and bottom 2 go into Tier 2. The bottom 2 of Tier 2 get relegated and play a challenge against top 4 teams from WCL. Top 2 then make it into Test Teams. The Top 4 teams in Tier 1 play Test Chanpionship As per the present rankings the Teams would be Tier 1:- India, Pak, SL, Aus, NZ, Eng, WI, BD, SA & Ire Tier 2:- Afg, Zim, Ken, Scot, Neth, Can, Nam, UAE, Ugan & PNG

  • fanedlive on March 22, 2011, 3:04 GMT

    This is a good tournament which will help progress cricket outside fullmember.

  • fanedlive on March 15, 2011, 6:37 GMT

    This is the bit the ICC does really well. Organising these 2nd & 3rd tier tournaments. They just need to improve what they do with the Associates. I'm hoping PNG will sneak into the final! Namibia are probably the strongest team though!

  • No featured comments at the moment.