India domestic

Duleep Trophy

ESPNcricinfo staff

Text size: A | A

The Duleep Trophy (named after KS Duleepsinhji) was started by the Indian board in 1961-62 as a zonal rather than a state first-class competition. The original format was that five teams, drawn from the five zones - North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone and Central Zone - played each other on a knock-out basis. From 1993-94 the competition converted to a league format. In 2002-03 the zonal teams were replaced by five new sides - Elite A, Elite B, Elite C, Plate A and Plate B but this lasted for only one season as it was felt that the new teams lacked a sense of identity. From 2003-04 the zones returned and an overseas guest side was included. The first was England A.

Year Winner
1961-62 West Zone
1962-63 West Zone
1963-64 West Zone / South Zone (joint)
1964-65 West Zone
1965-66 South Zone
1966-67 South Zone
1967-68 South Zone
1968-69 West Zone
1969-70 West Zone
1970-71 South Zone
1971-72 Central Zone
1972-73 West Zone
1973-74 North Zone
1974-75 South Zone
1975-76 South Zone
1976-77 West Zone
1977-78 West Zone
1978-79 North Zone
1979-80 North Zone
1980-81 West Zone
1981-82 West Zone
1982-83 North Zone
1983-84 North Zone
1984-85 South Zone
1985-86 West Zone
1986-87 South Zone
1987-88 North Zone
1988-89 North Zone / West Zone (joint)
1989-90 South Zone
1990-91 North Zone
1991-92 North Zone
1992-93 North Zone
1993-94 North Zone
1994-95 North Zone
1995-96 South Zone
1996-97 Central Zone
1997-98 Central Zone / West Zone
1998-99 Central Zone
1999-00 North Zone
2000-01 North Zone
2001-02 West Zone
2002-03 Elite C
2003-04 North Zone
2004-05 Central Zone
2005-06 West Zone
2006-07 North Zone
2007-08 North Zone
2008-09 West Zone
2009-10 West Zone
2010-11 South Zone
2011-12 East Zone

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days
Sponsored Links

Why not you? Read and learn how!