County Championship Division Two at Leicester, Sep 20-23 2006
486 & 186/0d
(70.1 ov, target 301)
372/4d & 301/5
Leics won by 5 wickets
Essex 1st Innings
AN Cook c Robinson b Maddy13223229322056.89
ML Pettini c Maddy b Liddle1147581023.40
RS Bopara  b Masters1128341039.28
A Flower c Masters b Maunders517201029.41
RC Irani (c)lbw b Masters75310140.00
JS Foster lbw b Walker10322729018045.37
RN ten Doeschate  b Masters45761026059.21
JD Middlebrook c Liddle b Henderson4478997056.41
TJ Phillips  b Walker416151025.00
AJ Bichel not out751041268472.11
AJ Tudor  b Henderson2251614043.13
Extras(b 8, lb 18, w 1)27
TOTAL(146.5 Ov, RR: 3.3)486
Fall of wickets: 1-42 (Mark Pettini), 2-64 (Ravi Bopara), 3-75 (Andy Flower), 4-82 (Ronnie Irani), 5-237 (Sir Alastair Cook), 6-322 (Ryan ten Doeschate), 7-335 (James Foster), 8-339 (Tim Phillips), 9-405 (James Middlebrook), 10-486 (Alex Tudor)
DD Masters32135831.8100
NGE Walker2758323.0710
CJ Liddle24610514.3700
DL Maddy1965212.7300
JK Maunders702513.5700
J Allenby822302.8700
CW Henderson29.5511423.8200
Leicestershire 1st Innings
DDJ Robinson (c) b Bopara8012012717066.66
JK Maunders lbw b Bichel771700100.00
TJ New lbw b Bichel01-000.00
JL Sadler not out12825449515350.39
DL Maddy c ten Doeschate b Bopara0912000.00
J Allenby not out10318737213355.08
Extras(b 7, lb 16, nb 30, w 1)54
TOTAL(93.5 Ov, RR: 3.96)372/4d
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (John Maunders), 2-21 (Tom New), 3-129 (Darren Robinson), 4-129 (Darren Maddy)
AJ Bichel2148624.0902
AJ Tudor11.536905.8307
TJ Phillips1835403.0000
RS Bopara2186122.9013
JD Middlebrook813604.5000
RN ten Doeschate1444303.0703
Essex 2nd Innings
AN Cook not out663224131206.25
ML Pettini not out11429241211393.10
Extras(nb 6)6
TOTAL(9.4 Ov, RR: 19.24)186/0d
PA Nixon5069013.8001
DDJ Robinson4.40117025.0702
Leicestershire 2nd Innings (target: 301 runs)
DDJ Robinson (c)c †Foster b Bichel739390017.94
JK Maunders c Cook b Middlebrook491011268048.51
TJ New  b Phillips5178939065.38
JL Sadler run out3854615170.37
DL Maddy lbw b ten Doeschate3961635063.93
PA Nixon not out3840706095.00
J Allenby not out68495992138.77
Extras(b 4, lb 3, nb 2, w 2)11
TOTAL(70.1 Ov, RR: 4.28)301/5
Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Darren Robinson), 2-111 (John Maunders), 3-117 (Tom New), 4-189 (John Sadler), 5-199 (Darren Maddy)
AJ Bichel1344913.7610
AJ Tudor511803.6000
RS Bopara702503.5711
RN ten Doeschate13.117215.4600
JD Middlebrook1615513.4300
TJ Phillips1427115.0700
AN Cook21402.0000
Grace Road, Leicester
TossEssex , elected to bat first
SeriesCounty Championship Division Two 2006
Hours of play (local time)10.30am start, Lunch 12.45pm-1.15, Tea (usually) 3.40-4.00, Close 6.00<br>Final day: Lunch 12.30pm-1.10, Tea 3.10-3.30, Close 5.30
Match days20,21,22,23 September 2006 (4-day match)
George Sharp
Graham Burgess
PointsLeicestershire 21, Essex 6
Wed, 20 Sep - day 1 - Essex 1st innings 322/6 (JS Foster 94*, 103.2 ov)
Thu, 21 Sep - day 2 - Leicestershire 1st innings 226/4 (JL Sadler 71*, J Allenby 37*, 59 ov)
Fri, 22 Sep - day 3 - Leicestershire 1st innings 290/4 (JL Sadler 89*, J Allenby 70*, 77 ov)
Sat, 23 Sep - day 4 - Leicestershire 2nd innings 301/5 (70.1 ov) - end of match
Day 4
  • Leicestershire 1st innings
  • JL Sadler 100 in 302 mins off 225 balls, 10x4 and 3x6
  • J Allenby 100 in 218 mins off 187 balls, 13x4 and 3x6
  • Essex 2nd innings
  • ML Pettini 100 in 24 mins off 27 balls, 11x4 and 10x6
Day 2
  • PA Nixon was named the wicketkeeper at the toss after an injury on day 2 TJ New took over behind the stumps
  • JS Foster 100 in 279 mins off 221 balls, 18x4
Day 1
  • Essex 1st innings
  • AN Cook 100 in 218 mins off 175 balls, 16x4