Taskin, Ronchi complete Chittagong's turnaround

Chittagong Vikings 166 for 4 (Ronchi 78, Misbah 31) beat Rangpur Riders 155 for 8 (Bopara 38, Taskin 3-31) by 11 runs
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Taskin Ahmed bowled Chittagong Vikings to their first win of the season, helping restrict Rangpur Riders to 155 for 8 in their chase of 167. He took three wickets, including two in succession in the 13th over, and ran out Ravi Bopara off the next ball with his boot to suck the life out of Rangpur's chase. Luke Ronchi had given Chittagong a blistering start with the third-fastest BPL fifty.

Rangpur eventually fell 11 runs short with some of their batsmen getting set but not converting. Left-arm medium-pacer Luis Reece took two for 26 in his four overs.

Ronchi made 78 off only 35 balls, hammering seven sixes. But after his dismissal, Chittagong slowed down, adding only 54 runs in the last 10 overs.

Ronchi's belligerence

A whip of his wrist gave Ronchi his first six, off the third ball of the match. He hit another six in the same over, off Mashrafe Mortaza, before he struck three fours in the second over, bowled by Sohag Gazi. Ronchi, in the next over, struck Nazmul Islam over mid-on and cover for consecutive sixes before cutting past point for a four. That over finished with a six over long-off, as Ronchi lifted Chittagong to 50 runs in the first three overs, a BPL record.

When Mashrafe claimed Soumya Sarkar's wicket in the fifth over, he had faced only seven deliveries out of the 28 in the opening partnership. Ronchi struck two more sixes during his 40-run, second wicket stand with Dilshan Munaweera.

One boundary in 10 overs

When Bopara had Ronchi caught at long-on, Chittagong were 99 for 2 in the ninth over. Ronchi had made 78 of those runs, having struck seven fours and seven sixes.

Munaweera struck Samiullah Shenwari for a six over midwicket at the end of the 10th over, but there was no boundary for 50 balls from that point.

Munaweera fell in the 11th over after which Misbah and Luis Reece added 19 runs in the five overs of their fourth-wicket stand. Anamul Haque could only manage 17 off 14 balls. The only boundary in the last 10 overs came from Misbah, who was unbeaten on 31 off 32 balls.

Setting up the chase

Rangpur lost Johnson Charles in the third ball of their chase, before Ziaur Rahman was dismissed after hitting a six and a four. Mohammad Mithun was the third wicket to fall in the Powerplay, undone by Reece for a 15-ball 23.

Shahriar Nafees and Bopara tried to keep up with the required run-rate, adding 49 runs in the following 6.4 overs, putting Rangpur in control.

Taskin rips through Rangpur

In the 13th over, Nafees was knocked over by an accurate yorker from Taskin, having made 26 off 23 balls. He then removed Shenwari next ball after he clipped a catch to Misbah at midwicket. Off the next ball, Taskin's boot came in the way of a Thisara Perera drive, which caught Bopara short at the non-striker's end.

Taskin then took his third wicket by having Perera caught at deep midwicket, reducing Rangpur to 119 for 7 in the 15th over.

Subashis takes on Mashrafe

With the match entering its decisive stages, emotions got the better of Mashrafe and Subashis Roy. Mashrafe dug out a yorker, and gestured to the bowler to get back. Subashis charged at Mashrafe, with Sikandar Raza running in to separate the pair. Subashis later apologised to Mashrafe.

Riders 2nd innings Partnerships

1st2Ziaur RahmanJ Charles
2nd18Ziaur RahmanMohammad Mithun
3rd36RS BoparaMohammad Mithun
4th49RS BoparaShahriar Nafees
5th0RS BoparaSamiullah Shinwari
6th0RS BoparaNLTC Perera
7th14Mashrafe MortazaNLTC Perera
8th15Mashrafe MortazaSohag Gazi
9th21SL MalingaSohag Gazi

Bangladesh Premier League