Tier 2, Chattogram, January 03 - 06, 2017, National Cricket League
555/7d & 165/7d
(T:401) 320 & 261/7

Match drawn

Player Of The Match
200*, 20 & 1/38

Rangpur secure promotion to Tier 1 after draw with Rajshahi

A round-up of the National Cricket League Tier 2 matches that ended on January 6, 2017

Dhiman Ghosh strokes one through the off side, Rajshahi v Dhaka, NCL final, 2nd day, Mirpur

File photo - Dhiman Ghosh fell three short of a century in Rangpur's first innings, while helping them take a 160-run lead  •  BCB

Rangpur Division sealed a well-earned promotion to next season's Tier 1 with a drawn game in Bogra against Rajshahi Division. Rangpur finished on 72 points, seven ahead of Rajshahi who will remain in Tier-2.
Put in to bat, Rajshahi were bowled out for 191 with Mohammad Saddam taking five wickets. Rangpur took a 160-run lead after Liton Das and Nasir Hossain made half-centuries while Dhiman Ghosh fell three short of a hundred. Mamun Hossain took five wickets.
Myshukur Rahaman's 160 helped Rajshahi perform better int he second innings, as they declared on 403 for 7. Rangpur showed intent in their chase of 244 but play was called off on the fourth day with their score at 196 for 2. Jahid Javed made 70 while Mahmudul Hasan chipped in with an unbeaten 54.
Sylhet Division and Chittagong Division also drew their last game in Chittagong. Both sides will remain in Tier-2 for next season.
Alok Kapali's third first-class double-hundred, an unbeaten 200, was the cornerstone of Sylhet's 555 for 7 declared in the first innings. Imtiaz Hossain also made a century, hitting 11 fours and a six in his 211-ball 134. Kapali struck 10 sixes and 12 fours in his 266-ball essay.
Chittagong were bowled out for 320 runs with Nafees Iqbal dismissed on 99 while Yasir Ali and Mohammad Saifuddin also struck fifties. Abu Jayed took a five-for.
Sylhet blazed to 165 for 7 in 25 overs in the second innings to set Chittagong a target of 401 but Chittagong batted out the final day, making 261 for 7 in 88 overs, with contributions from the middle order.
Rajshahi, Sylhet and Chittagong will be joined by Dhaka Metropolis in Tier-2 next season.

Chittagong D Innings
<1 / 3>
National Cricket League
Tier 1
Tier 2