Mominul back in Bangladesh Test squad

Mominul Haque celebrates his half-century Getty Images

Twenty-four hours after he was dropped for the first time in his Test career, Mominul Haque has been reinstated in the Bangladesh squad for the first Test against Australia, which starts from August 27. Mominul will replace Mosaddek Hossain, who is suffering from an eye infection, and the turnaround came after a meeting between the BCB president, Nazmul Hassan, and the selection committee.

Mosaddek will need at least 15 days of rest for his condition to improve, according to an eye specialist. His infection was known to the selectors after he missed Bangladesh's training camp in Chittagong earlier this month. During Saturday's press conference, coach Chandika Hathurusingha had said that Nasir Hossain had been picked in the 14-man squad as Mosaddek's back-up.

However, following a stormy press conference after the team's announcement on Saturday and subsequent criticism by the media, the BCB president called the selection committee, which also includes Hathurusingha, for an impromptu meeting. Hassan later said that such discussions with selectors and players often occur before a tour or home series, and this time took place after the squad was announced. Hassan said he would have insisted on Mominul's inclusion in the squad if he had met with the selectors before Saturday's announcement.

"I don't know if he would be in the XI but there was an opportunity to keep him in the squad," Hassan said. "What would happen if they made it a 15-man squad instead of a 14-man squad? There's no need to create controversy. Anybody would feel bad seeing Mominul out of the squad.

"We have decided that Mominul is coming in as Saikat has an eye infection. So we don't want to take a risk with him. See, it wouldn't have come to that if we didn't have a gap [in communication]."

Squad for the first Test: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt & wk), Mominul Haque, Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Mehedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Nasir Hossain, Shafiul Islam.