New South Wales' Josh Hazlewood has made it to the Under-19 squad for the one-day series against India next month as well as the preliminary squad for the 2010 U-19 World Cup to be played in Kenya. Mitchell Marsh and Alister McDermott, sons of former Test players Geoff Marsh and Craig McDermott respectively, are also part of both squads.

Last year, Hazlewood at 17 became the youngest fast bowler to be picked by his state for a first-class match - against the touring New Zealanders. If picked for Kenya, he will be appearing for his second World Cup. He took six wickets in four games in the 2008 edition in Malaysia. Hazlewood was 6'5" during the tournament and his coach Brian McFayden expected him to grow a couple of inches. "We see him as a future Australian player," McFayden had said.

The squad for the India series will assemble in Hobart on April 4. The two sides will play three one-dayers and two three-day games between April 7 and April 21 in Hobart and Perth.

Geoff Tamblyn, the chairman of Cricket Australia's National Youth Selection Panel, said the series would provide the players some experience. "The squad to face India provides a great opportunity to all players selected to test their skills and performance against the reigning world champions at under-19 level."

Tamblyn was also pleased with the "exceptionally talented squad" for the World Cup. "The squad contains some players who have tasted state cricket in Australia, one of the strongest domestic competitions in the world," he said.

Under-19 squad to play India:
Sean Abbott, Tim Armstrong, Tom Beaton, Jackson Coleman, Adam Coyte, Luke Doran, Jason Floros, Joel Garrett Josh Hazlewood, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh, Alister McDermott, Kane Richardson, Tom Triffitt, Adam Zampa.

Preliminary World Cup squad:
Sean Abbott, Tim Armstrong, Tom Beaton, Tom Brinsley, Nicholas Buchanan, Alex Carey, Jackson Coleman, Adam Coyte, Travis Dean, Anthony Del Borrello, Matthew Dixon, Luke Doran, Jason Floros, Joel Garrett, Jake Hannan, Peter Hanscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Michael Johnson, Alex Keath, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh, Alister McDermott, Jordan McLennan, Ryan Meyer, Kane Richardson, Angus Robson, Andrew Tazelaar, Tom Triffitt, Sam Whiteman, Adam Zampa.