Dwayne Smith, the allrounder, has returned to the West Indies squad for the first Twenty20 international against Australia on March 27. Smith last played for West Indies in September 2011, in a T20I against England. West Indies have also called up fast bowler Fidel Edwards, left-arm medium-pacer Krishmar Santokie, left-arm spinner Garey Mathurin and allrounder Nkrumah Bonner.
Smith has had an impressive time in Twenty20 cricket with the bat of late. He was the third-highest run-getter in the Caribbean T20 competition, scoring 165 runs at a strike-rate of 136.36. He then represented Khulna Royal Bengals in the Bangladesh Premier League, making 346 runs at 137.30.
Santokie was the leading wicket-taker in the Caribbean T20, with 14 wickets for Jamaica, including a hat-trick, in six matches at an economy-rate of 6.12. Bonner was the second-highest run-getter in the competition, with 172 runs for Jamaica at a strike-rate of 96.08. Mathurin has had a good start to the domestic first-class season, with 18 wickets in five matches for Windward Islands at an average of 18.83.
Edwards had been playing for the Dolphins franchise in the South African MiWay T20 Challenge. He made a comeback for West Indies in May last year after being out for almost two years due to a back injury, and was given a Grade B contract by the West Indies Cricket Board in October.
"We have named a squad with a mixture of experience and youth and we believe they have the quality to defeat the Australians," the West Indies chairman of selectors Clyde Butts said. "We also use these matches as part of our continued preparations for the ICC World T20 Championship in Sri Lanka in September. That tournament is not far away and we want to make sure we get ready for that event as well."
The West Indies players from the ongoing ODI series against Australia who've not been picked for the T20 are Adrian Barath, Tino Best, Kemar Roach and Devendra Bishoo. The teams will play two Twenty20 internationals.