The seven-ODI series at home against New Zealand, starting October 8, is set to be Dane van Niekerk's first as South Africa Women's captain.
Van Niekerk was announced captain in June, after Mignon du Preez stepped down from the role to focus on her batting.
"It's definitely not going to be an easy task taking on New Zealand, but I'm sure that we have the team to do the job," Van Niekerk said. "It's just a question of us doing the right things and sticking to the basics and I'm sure we'll do well. We want to seal our place in next year's World Cup and this series is just another step towards that goal."
Neither wicketkeeper Trisha Chetty nor seamer Shabnim Ismail figure in the 15-member squad, as they are currently subject to a CSA disciplinary hearing. CSA is to make an announcement on the matter once the disciplinary process is complete.
Seamer Marcia Letsoalo is the other member of the squad from the home ODIs against West Indies Women in February to miss out. In place of the three omitted players, the squad includes batsman Lara Goodall, left-arm seamer Moseline Daniels and wicketkeeper Sinalo Jafta. Jafta, 21, has not played any international cricket so far.
The first three ODIs of the series form part of the ICC Women's Championship, and therefore count towards qualification for the 2017 Women's World Cup in England next year. South Africa are currently fifth on the points table, behind New Zealand at fourth.
South Africa Women squad: Dané van Niekerk (capt.), Laura Wolvaardt, Mignon du Preez, Marizanne Kapp, Lizelle Lee, Suné Luus, Chloe Tryon, Dinesha Devnarain, Odine Kirsten, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lara Goodall, Sinalo Jafta, Moseline Daniels, Andrie Steyn