David Warner returns to New South Wales squad

The opener will make his return in the one-day match against South Australia

Steven Smith and David Warner at the nets, Sydney, August 14, 2020

David Warner is back for New South Wales but Steven Smith remains injured  •  Getty Images

David Warner will make his Sheffield Shield comeback against South Australia after returning to New South Wales colours in the Marsh Cup match in Adelaide on Thursday.
Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood are also back for the four-day match but Pat Cummins, who will captain the one-day side, has been rested.
Warner played the last two Tests against India while still significantly hampered by the groin injury he sustained in the ODIs at the end of November which ruled him out of the rest of the white-ball matches and first two Tests.
Speaking on commentary of the New Zealand-Australia T20I series last week, Warner said how he expected to feel the effects of the injury for up to nine months but he is hopeful that it can be managed.
Warner comes into the New South Wales one-day squad as a replacement for Daniel Hughes who has a shoulder injury although the opener is available for the Shield. Steven Smith remains sidelined by the elbow problem which he first felt at the end of the series against India and has since flared up during his return to domestic cricket.
"We all know Davey's quality as a player in all formats and it's great to see him back for the Blues for this game," New South Wales coach Phil Jaques said.
"He has worked really hard on his rehab and has been great around the group when he's been at training. It will be fantastic to have his experience around the team over the coming weeks."
Starc missed the last Sheffield Shield match against Victoria following the death if his father while Hazlewood was rotated as part of the management of New South Wales' fast bowlers.
New South Wales one-day squad Pat Cummins (capt), Sean Abbott, Harry Conway, Oliver Davies, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Liam Hatcher, Matthew Gilkes, Moises Henriques, Nick Larkin, Nathan Lyon, Kurtis Patterson, David Warner
New South Wales Sheffield Shield squad Peter Nevill (capt), Sean Abbott, Harry Conway, Trent Copeland, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Nick Larkin, Nathan Lyon, Kurtis Patterson, Daniel Solway, Mitchell Starc, David Warner