Matches (14)
IPL (3)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
Charlotte Edwards (1)
T20I Tri-Series (1)

Ireland recall Tector and McBrine for T20 World Cup 2022 Qualifiers

Neil Rock and Ben White have been named as the travelling reserves in the squad led by Andy Balbirnie

Ireland players celebrate Craig Williams' wicket, Ireland vs Namibia, T20 World Cup, Sharjah, October 22, 2021

Ireland failed to make it to the Super 12s of the 2021 T20 World Cup  •  ICC via Getty

Harry Tector, the 22-year old batter, and Andy McBrine, fresh from breaking into the top 10 rankings for ODI bowlers, have been recalled to the Ireland squad for the T20 World Cup Qualifiers in Oman.
Andy Balbirnie leads the 14-member contingent, many of whom were part of the 2-1 triumph over the West Indies in 50-overs cricket recently.
"We were all pleased to see the resilience, grit, and fight by the squad on display in the West Indies - these are characteristics that have always been part of Irish cricket, and I know the team is looking to exemplify this in their on-field performances," Andrew White, Chair of Ireland men selectors, said.
"As we look ahead to the T20 World Cup Qualifier, we know it will be a series of tough, hard-fought games, but hopefully, we can carry the confidence and momentum of the recent series forward to the Qualifier and beyond."
The T20 World Cup Qualifiers will be contested between eight teams split into two groups of four each, with Ireland having UAE, Bahrain and Germany to face on February 18, 19 and 21, respectively. The top two teams from each group then progress to a semi-final, with the two semi-final winners then going on to qualify for the first round of the T20 World Cup, which again consists of two groups of four.
The top two teams in each group go on to the Super 12s, where eight teams have already booked their slots. Ireland suffered two defeats out of three in round one of the 2021 T20 World Cup - which included a loss against Namibia - and hence failed to make it to the Super 12s.
"I know that the players and coaches were as disappointed as the fans about the early exit from the T20 World Cup last year. But I also am aware how keen this group is to rectify the failings of the past," White added.
The Qualifiers for the 2022 tournament in Australia are set to start on February 15, and will run up to February 24, with Ireland leaving for Oman on February 4.
Squad: Andy Balbirnie (capt), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, Josh Little, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young
Travelling Reserves: Neil Rock and Ben White