There were no surprises when the Kenya squad for the World Cup was announced, with the selectors retaining the same 15 players who won the World Cricket League last week.

Kennedy Otieno and Hitesh Modi, two stalwarts of the 2003 World Cup, effectively ruled themselves out of contention by failing to join the training squad by the January 3 deadline.

There had been speculation that Martin Suji might be recalled but he has failed to recover in time from a serious knee injury. "He was selected for the Kenya 'A' team against Uganda in which he bowled three overs and broke down," explained Tom Tikolo, Cricket Kenya's CEO. "Much as we would have liked to have him on the team, it is impossible because he is simply not fit."

Kenya squad Steve Tikolo (capt), Thomas Odoyo (vice-captain), Ravindu Shah, Tanmay Mishra, Collins Obuya, Peter Ongondo, Nehemiah Odhiambo, Maurice Ouma, Malhar Patel, Hiren Varaiya, David Obuya (wk), Rajesh Bhudia, Jimmy Kamande, Tony Suji, Lameck Onyango.