Netherlands stroll to seven-wicket win

A round-up of the play-off matches in the ICC World Cup 2015 Qualifier played on January 26 2014

Opener Eric Szwarczynski and captain Peter Borren guided Netherlands to a comfortable seven-wicket win over Nepal in the first play-off in Mount Maunganui on Sunday. Netherlands won the toss and elected to field, a decision which paid off as both Nepal openers were removed for single digits before quick strikes left Nepal at 39 for 4 in 15 overs.
Captain Paras Khadka made 29 and Sharad Vesawkar grafted his way to Nepal's high score on the day, 42 off 90 balls, to ensure their side was able to bat through all 50 overs to finish on 171 for 9. Ahsan Malik's four overs accounted for Vesawkar, Binod Bhandari and Shakti Gauchan and the seamer finished with figures of 3 for 21.
Despite the loss of Stephan Myburgh in the second over, Netherlands pursued the target with relative ease. Szwarczynski (56) struck his third successive fifty-plus score and took control of the chase adding 88 runs for the second-wicket with Wesley Barresi (31). Left-arm spinner Basant Regmi dismissed both men in the space of four overs to give Nepal brief hopes of a win, but the side failed to make another breakthrough. Borren teamed with Michael Swart for an unbeaten 50-run fourth-wicket stand to wrap up the chase in 31.5 overs.
Canada kept Uganda winless at the tournament with a dominant 59-run D/L victory. After reaching 71 for 1 in 26 overs, Uganda collapsed to lose their last nine wickets for just 78 runs were eventually bundled out for 149. Left-arm spinner Parth Desai wrecked the Uganda middle order to finish with 4 for 29.
Ruvindu Gunasekera (52*) and captain Jimmy Hansra (43*) put Canada on pace for victory with an unbeaten 86-run second-wicket partnership before rain halted play after 29 overs with the team healthily placed at 119 for 1. Play was unable to restart and with 20 overs completed, Canada were awarded victory, being well ahead of the Duckworth-Lewis par score of 60.
Canada will next face Netherlands in the seventh place playoff on Tuesday, while Nepal and Uganda will both seek their first win of the tournament in the ninth place playoff.