At Sharjah, December 21. Pakistan won by 50 runs. Toss: Sri Lanka. Pakistan restored their pride and won the Sharjah Cup in this match, which gave them an overall run-rate of 4.08 against Sri Lanka's 3.65. Their score was built around the unbeaten 54 of Ijaz Ahmed, who batted for 78 minutes after débutant Aamer Sohail and Imran had mounted a rescue from a disastrous start. Pakistan were 15 for three as Miandad and Salim Malik failed again. Four run-outs testified to Sri Lanka's continuing success in the field. Dammika Ranatunga and Senanayake, another international newcomer, gave their reply a steady start with 46, but then four wickets fell for 22 and the dismissal of De Silva by Waqar Younis effectively ended their hopes.
Man of the Match: Ijaz Ahmed.