An exciting talent: Kieron Pollard was named in the squad of 30 © The Nation
West Indies have announced their provisional 30-man squad for the Twenty20 World Championship in South Africa in September.

The squad blends experience with youth and many of West Indies' provisional 30 for the World Cup, held earlier this year, have been included. Alongside the usual faces, such as Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo, are some lesser-known names: Gavin Tonge, the West Indies A bowler and William Perkins, the Trinidad batsman.

Perkins joins Kieron Pollard, the very highly regarded young allrounder, in the squad following their excellent performances for Trinidad & Tobago in last year's Stanford 20/20 tournament. Their side lost to Guyana in the final, but both impressed with the purity of their strokeplay. There were, however, no places for Daren Ganga or Corey Collymore.

West Indies squad Ramnaresh Sarwan (capt), Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Dwayne Bravo, Patrick Browne, Devon Smith, Marlon Samuels, Narsingh Deonarine, Travis Dowlin, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Darren Sammy, Dwayne Smith, Denesh Ramdin, Lendl Simmons, Austin Richards, Rawl Lewis, Carlton Baugh, Runako Morton, Daren Powell, Kieron Pollard, William Perkins, Pedro Collins, Esuan Crandon, Brenton Parchment, Andre Fletcher, Ravi Rampaul, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Jerome Taylor, Gavin Tonge.