Matches (12)
ENG v NZ (1)
WI v BDESH (1)
IRE v IND (1)
Ranji Trophy (1)
IND in ENG (1)
County DIV1 (4)
County DIV2 (3)

Jangid's 97 in vain as Vidarbha lose by three runs

A round-up of the Vijay Hazare Tropy 2015-16 Group C matches played on December 10, 2015

AG Pradeep plays the slog sweep, Tamil Nadu v Andhra, Ranji Trophy, Group B, 1st day, Chennai, November 7, 2015

File photo: AG Pradeep, who scored 71, was the common factor in two important stands for Andhra  •  Sivaraman Kitta

Ravi Jangid's 97 was in vain as Vidarbha fell an agonizing three runs short of a win against Odisha in Delhi. Vidarbha's top order had crumbled to 59 for 5 in their chase of 227, but Jangid and Akshay Karnewar revived the side's hopes with a 157-run partnership for the sixth wicket. Then medium-pacer Alok Chandra Sahoo turned the match Odisha's way, dismissing Karnewar and then taking two wickets in his next over to reduce Vidarbha to 220 for 9 in the 46th over. Two overs later, Samantray dismissed Jangid to end Vidarbha's innings. Sahoo's three wickets at the death took his match tally to 5 for 39 and added to his crucial contribution of 35 with the bat. Odisha's innings, after they opted to bat, had followed a similar arc. Vidarbha's bowlers had reduced the side to 125 for 6 before Sahoo and Arabind Singh lifted the score with a seventh-wicket stand of 85 to push the score to 226 for 9. Arabind top-scored with 62 off 64 deliveries.
Debutant seamer Suboth Bhati's four-wicket haul derailed Baroda's chase as Delhi defended 208 to win by 31 runs at the Feroz Shah Kotla. Baroda never got going, losing wickets at regular intervals to be bowled out for 177, with only Deepak Hooda (50 off 76 balls) making a substantial score. Bhati finished with figures of 4 for 17 in 6.5 overs.Sent in to bat, Delhi lost wickets frequently but Nitish Rana held them together with an 86-ball 62. His biggest partnership was with Pawan Negi - they added 76 for the seventh wicket before Rana fell in the penultimate over of the innings. Negi finished on 47 off 57 balls.
Andhra's bowlers, led by CV Stephen and B Sudhakar, dismissed Tripura for 215 to set up a 58-run win in Delhi. Chasing 274, Tripura's top order made a strong start and there were key contributions from opener Udiyan Bose (46), wicketkeeper Nirupam Sen Chowdhary (52) and Parvinder Singh (50) but their innings lackedthe big innings or a substantial stand that the side needed. For Andhra, Stephen and Sudhakar took three wickets each while Dasari Swaroop Kumar took two wickets. Andhra's innings was marked by two fifty-plus stands for the third and fourth wickets and a rapid 45-run partnership for the sixth wicket that lifted the side at the end. Koripalli Sreekanth and AG Pradeep steadied the innings after the loss of the openers, adding 52 for the third wicket. Pradeep - who top-scored with 71 - then shared in a 72-run stand with Ashwin Hebbar, before both batsmen were dismissed quickly. D Siva Kumar smacked a 26-ball 51 and his 45-run stand with Swaroop took the side past the 250-run mark.