The Redbacks 2002-2003 squad is:

ACB contracted players:

  • Darren Lehmann
  • Jason Gillespie

State contracted players:

  • Greg Blewett
  • Brad Young
  • Ben Johnson
  • Mark Harrity
  • Paul Rofe
  • David Fitzgerald
  • Michael Smith
  • Ben Higgins
  • Graham Manou
  • Shane Deitz
  • Chris Davies
  • Nathan Adcock
  • Ryan Harris
  • Michael Miller
  • Daniel Harris


  • Mark Higgs
  • Damien Fleming
  • John Davison
  • Jack Smith

Rookie contracted players:

  • Matthew Weekes
  • Mark Cosgrove
  • Wes Thomas

Mark Higgs

Twenty five year old batsman Mark Higgs has come from the New South Wales Blues to join the Redbacks but initially represented the Australian Capital Territory in the domestic competition before he was lured north to Sydney in the lead-up to the 1998-99 season. Higgs is an aggressive strokemaker and an accomplished slow left arm bowler.

Damien Fleming

From the Victorian Bushrangers, Damien Fleming has played 20 Test matches for Australia, with a bowling average of 25.89 and 88 One Day Internationals for Australia with a bowling average 25.38.

John Davison

John Davison is a right arm offspinner from Victoria. To the end of the 1999-2000 season, he had played twenty-six first class matches, capturing forty wickets at an average of more than sixty runs apiece. John is of Canadian birth and has represents the Canadian national team.

Jack Smith

Twenty five year old right handed batsman Jack Smith is from the ACT. He is a member of the 2002 Commonwealth Bank Cricket Academy and was named in the PM's XI earlier this year.

2001-02 contracted players Jeff Vaughan, Brett Swain and Darren Dempsey failed to make this years contract list.

Paul Wilson has taken up an offer to play with the Western Warriors, while Luke Williams has accepted an offer to play for the Tasmanian Tigers.

Veteran Redbacks leg spin bowler Peter McIntyre announced his retirement from all levels of cricket earlier in the week.

The States must register between 14 and 20 State Player contracts and between 2 and 5 rookie contracts by September 28.