Ryan Carters, the wicketkeeper-batsman who has played 11 first-class games for Victoria over the past three seasons, has signed a rookie deal with New South Wales. Carters, who is originally from Canberra, did not have his Cricket Victoria contract renewed and instead has joined the Blues as one of the five rookies in their large squad for the 2013-14 summer.

Batsmen Tim Cruickshank and David Dawson and the spinner Luke Doran have been delisted by the Blues, who also confirmed Test spinner Nathan Lyon as their major interstate import. Lyon was keen to return home to New South Wales having established himself as a domestic and international player with South Australia.

There were no real surprises in the New South Wales contract list, with the fast bowler Gurinder Sandhu predictably upgraded to a full deal from his rookie contract after winning the Steve Waugh Medal last summer. New rookies include the wicketkeeper-batsman Jay Lenton and the left-arm pace-bowling allrounder Ben Dwarshuis.

"Even with seven New South Wales players being contracted to Cricket Australia, Cricket New South Wales has still been able to name a very talented contract list for 2013/14," John Warn, the Cricket New South Wales chairman said. "The addition of Nathan Lyon to our squad to play alongside a group of younger players that are developing rapidly, plus having someone of the ability of Trevor Bayliss to bring the group together, means that we have the depth and experience to challenge in both forms of the game next season."

New South Wales squad Sean Abbott, Doug Bollinger, Michael Clarke (Cricket Australia contract), Trent Copeland, Pat Cummins (CA), Brad Haddin (CA), Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Scott Henry, Daniel Hughes, Nathan Lyon (CA), Nic Maddinson, Peter Nevill, Steve O'Keefe, Josh Lalor, Kurtis Patterson, Ben Rohrer, Gurinder Sandhu, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc (CA), Chris Tremain, David Warner (CA), Shane Watson (CA). Rookies Nic Bills, Ryan Carters, Harry Conway, Ben Dwarshuis, Jay Lenton.