The South Australian Cricket Association (SACA) has announced the South Australian team to compete in the Under-17 Youth Championships in Perth from January 3 to 14.

Captain of the side is 16 year old James Harford, who was a team member in the Under-19 Championships recently held in Canberra. James scored three half centuries in six innings during the Under-19 carnival.

Ten out of the thirteen players selected were members of the SA team which won the Under-15 National Championships in 2001.

The South Australian Under-17 team is:

James Harford (c - Kensington)
John Pratt (vc - Prospect)
Paul Allegreto (Kensington)
Adam Carey (Southern Districts)
Chad Harper (Sturt)
Shannon Hurn (Northern Districts)
Tom Kurzel (Prospect)
Phillip Maddocks (Adelaide)
Logan Pastyn (West Torrens)
Gary Putland (Southern Districts)
Simon Roberts (Southern Districts)
Chadd Sayers (Woodville)
Simon Wiese (West Torrens)

Cricket Officer for the SACA, Dean Sayers, will coach the side.