Sophie Devine, the Adelaide Strikers and New Zealand allrounder, has been named player of the tournament for this season's WBBL after playing a starring role in the Strikers' progress to finals weekend.

Devine currently tops the run-scoring with 699 at 77.66 and a strike-rate of 130.16 including eight half-centuries. Her 28 sixes puts her well ahead of the next best of 19 from Lizelle Lee. She also claimed 16 wickets at 20.25 and an economy rate of 6.35

With potentially two matches to play should the Strikers reach the final on Sunday, Devine has a chance of eclipsing Ellyse Perry's record of 777 runs in last year's tournament. At one stage during the regular season she went 207 deliveries without being dismissed.

Devine earned votes in 12 of the 14 matches she played, finishing 13 clear of Brisbane Heat's Beth Mooney (35 votes) and Melbourne Renegade's Danni Wyatt (33).

Votes were awarded on a 3-2-1 basis by the standing umpires at the end of each match meaning a player can receive up to six votes per match.

Of the players to top the voting only Perry, whose campaign was ended early by a shoulder injury, will not be appearing at finals weekend in Brisbane.

Leading votes

1 Sophie Devine (Adelaide Strikers) - 48 votes
2 Beth Mooney (Brisbane Heat) - 35 votes
3 Danni Wyatt (Melbourne Renegades) - 33 votes
4 Jess Duffin (Melbourne Renegades) - 31 votes
= Meg Lanning (Perth Scorchers) - 31 votes
= Ellyse Perry (Sydney Sixers) - 31 votes
5 Jess Jonassen (Brisbane Heat) - 27 votes