South Zone 135 for 5 (Mumtaz 39*) beat Central Zone Blues 132 for 6 (Dar 47, Naz 2-15) by five wickets

Urooj Mumtaz and Bismah Maroof shared the Player-of-the-Series award © Pakistan Cricket Board

South Zone, led by captain Urooj Mumtaz's unbeaten 39, beat Central Zone Blues by five wickets at the National Stadium in Karachi on Sunday to clinch the inaugural women's National Twenty20 Quadrangular Championship.

Central began well after being sent in, with Bismah Maroof and Marina Iqbal putting on 48 for the first wicket. However, they squandered the initiative by losing three wickets for 13 runs. Iqbal was the first to go, caught behind by Batool Fatima off Sana Mir for 19. Kanwal Naz then accounted for Maroof, who made 27, and Sabeen Samad, both stumped by Fatima. Nida Dar and Almas Akram repaired some of the damage with a fourth-wicket stand worth 54 runs. Almas made 27 while Nida hit a massive six in the final over before being run out by Mumtaz for 47 as Central finished with 132 for 6.

South lost their openers cheaply with 19 runs on the board but recovered when Mumtaz combined with Nain Abidi to add 48 runs. Their stand was ended in controversial circumstances, Abidi being adjudged caught at leg slip for 28 off what should have been a no-ball as only three fielders were in the inner ring. Play was held up for a few minutes when Mumtaz and South's coach, Farrukh Bari, remonstrated with umpire Humaira Farah, but to no avail. Mumtaz recovered her concentration soon enough and focused on the chase. Pushing for singles and twos, she brought South to within three runs of victory in the final over, finishing the contest by striking the fourth ball for a boundary.

Mumtaz was named Player of the Match and shared the Player-of-the-Series award with Maroof, her Pakistan team-mate.