Dane van Niekerk back as South Africa captain for West Indies series

South Africa women are scheduled to play three T20Is and five ODIs in Antigua, starting on August 31

Firdose Moonda
Firdose Moonda
File photo: Dane van Niekerk leads a team talk  •  Getty Images

File photo: Dane van Niekerk leads a team talk  •  Getty Images

Dane van Niekerk will return to captain South Africa for the three-T20 and five-ODI series in West Indies, starting on August 31. van Niekerk has not played for the national team since the T20 World Cup semi-final last March. She missed the series against Pakistan and India with a back injury, but returned to action in the women's Hundred, where she is leading the Oval Invincibles. She takes back the position from Sune Luus, who led South Africa in her absence.
The series, which will take place in Antigua, also sees the return of allrounder Chloe Tryon, who has not played since the T20 World Cup. Tryon also had a back injury and sat out against Pakistan and India but made her comeback for London Spirit in the Hundred.
"A few of our players have been making solid progress in their return from injuries and we are glad to see them giving a good account of themselves in international tournaments," Hilton Moreen, the South Africa coach, said. "We look forward to them taking part in this series after some time away from the national set-up."
The rest of the squad is made up of familiar faces including Marizanne Kapp, who has completely recovered from a medical condition which kept her on the sidelines for several weeks earlier in the year. She will be joined by Laura Wolvaardt, Shabnim Ismail, Mignon du Preez and Lizelle Lee, who are playing in the Hundred. Two others in the squad - Masabata Klaas and Tasmin Brits - have had recent match-time after featuring for the South African Emerging side in a tour to Zimbabwe in May. The rest of the players have been part of training camps, with another one planned ahead of the team's departure.
This will be South Africa's first bilateral series since their win over India in March, when they won the ODI series 4-1 and the T20s 2-1. They also played Pakistan in January and February.
South Africa squad vs West Indies: Dane Van Niekerk (c), Sune Luus, Ayabonga Khaka, Shabnim Ismail, Laura Wolvaardt, Trisha Chetty, Sinalo Jafta, Tasmin Britz, Marizanne Kapp, Nondu Shangase, Lizelle Lee, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Mignon du Preez, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Tumi Sekhukhune, Masabata Klaas

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo's South Africa correspondent