Pakistan in Australia 2004-05 December 10, 2004

Australia name unchanged squad for WACA Test

Cricinfo staff

Will Australia unleash Lee on a suspect Pakistani batting line-up? © Getty Images

Australia's selectors have retained faith in the 12-man squad that routed New Zealand 2-0 in the Test series last month. Ricky Ponting will lead the side in the first Test against Pakistan at the WACA in Perth, with Brett Lee once again the most likely candidate to miss out, even on a pitch tailormade for fast bowling.

Lee has made an impact during the one-day internationals against New Zealand, but with Michael Kasprowicz having bowled so magnificently on tours of Sri Lanka and India, there is unlikely to be a change in the Australian mindset, with Glenn McGrath, Jason Gillespie and Shane Warne being the other components in a formidable four-man bowling attack.

Pakistan struggled with the bat on the opening day of their tour game against Western Australia, and were ruthlessly dismantled by Steve Waugh's side when they played at the WACA in 1999-2000.

Australian squad for first Test
Justin Langer, Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting (capt), Damien Martyn, Darren Lehmann, Michael Clarke, Adam Gilchrist (wk), Shane Warne, Jason Gillespie, Michael Kasprowicz, Glenn McGrath, Brett Lee.