Inter-Department Qualifying Tournament 2003-04 October 31, 2003

Bowlers dominate first day

Wisden Cricinfo staff

Wasim Khan, Azam Hussain, Junaid Zia and Abdul Rauf stole the bowling honours during the opening day's play in the second round of the Inter-Departmental qualifying tournament.

Wasim captured eight for 41 as Habib Bank were bundled out for 97 in 22.3 overs. In reply Sui Gas had reached 196 for one from 46 overs at close of play. Test opener Mohammad Hafeez was batting on 93 and with him was another Test batsman Misbah-ul-Haq who was unbeaten on 47.

Azam Hussain helped Defence Housing Authority (DHA) skittle out KESC for a paltry 156 in 58 overs. Azam captured seven wickets for 40 runs. DHA, at the close of play, had reached 42 for two in 25 overs.

Junaid Zia followed up his five-wicket haul in the tournament opener against PIA with six for 19 as Pakistan Navy were dismissed for 86 in 37.4 overs. Customs, in return, were 217 for five off 45 overs.

Allied Bank Limited taught a lesson in cricket to Pakistan Education Board when they bowled out the students for 52 in 16.3 overs. Then, helped by a rapid century by Wajahatullah Wasti (107 not out) ABL declared their first innings at 252 for two. With a lead of 200 in the bag, ABL ended the day with PEB reeling at 64 for four. Abdul Rauf took five for 36 in the first innings while Tanvir Ahmed followed up his four for 15 with two for 20.

Scores in brief (day 1 of 3):
Pool A:
At Quaid-e-Azam Park, Pak PWD 144 in 52 overs (Zeeshan Pervaiz 33, Umar Gul 5-51, Fazle Akbar 3-32, Nadeem Khan 2-31) vs PIA 81-1 in 26 overs (Kamran Sajid 33 not out, Yasir Hameed 25 not out)
At PCB Academy, Pakistan Navy 86 in 37.4 overs (Junaid Zia 6-19, Imran Ali 3-29) vs Customs 217-5 in 45 overs (Kashif Siddique 76, Azhar Shafiq 65)
At UBL Sports Complex, KESC 156 in 58 overs (Javed Mansoor [3x4, 108b, Kamran B.Mansoor 42 [5x4, 106b], Azam Hussain 7-40) vs DHA 42-2 in 25 overs (Wasim Naeem 23 not out)

Pool B:
At KRL Stadium, KRL 213 in 80.5 overs (Saeed bin Nasir 89 [13x4, 181b], Yasir Arafat 41 [6x4, 2x6, 38b], Mohammad Khalil 4-51, Mohammad Hussain 4-85) vs PTCL 8-0 in 1 over.
At Pindi Cricket Stadium, Pakistan Army 160 (Zubair Watoo 44, Farooq Iqbal 3-7) vs Wapda 45-1 in 8 overs.
At Shalimar Ground, no play between PTV and PoF because of wet pitch.

Pool C:
At Railway Stadium, Railway 295 in 83 overs (Afzal Shah 75 [9x4, 146b], Asif Butt 50 [5x6, 30b], Khalid Bashir 40, Fahad-ul-Haq 40 [4x4, 68b], Mohammad Shoaib 3-33, Atif Ijaz 2-50, Shoaib Maqsood 2-78) vs HEC 4-0 in 1 over.
At Country Club Muridke, ZTBL 282 in 77.1 overs (Zeeshan Mohsin 46, Zahoor Elahi 42, Javed Hayat 40, Faisal Naved 37, Imran Abbas 30, Aleem Mosa 3-85, Mohammad Javed 3-56) vs NBP 13-0 in 2 overs
At Gymkhana Ground Okara, PAF 302-9 in 83 overs (Shakeel Sharif 118, Naseer-ud-din 45, Nadeem Farooqi 33, Rizwan Ahmed 4-67) vs Service Industries

Pool D:
At Jinnah Stadium Sialkot, HBL 97 in 22.3 overs (Wasim Khan 8-41) vs Sui Gas 196-1 in 46 overs (Mohammad Hafeez 93 not out, Misbah-ul-Haq 47 not out, Ali Hussain 40)
At Saga Ground, PEB 52 in 16.3 overs (Abdul Rauf 5-36, Tanvir Ahmed 4-15) and 64-4 (Shahid Pervez Abbasi 34 not out, Tanvir Ahmed 2-20) vs ABL 252-2 in 42 overs declared (Wajahatullah Wasti 107 not out, Farhan Adil 65, Ijaz Ahmad Jnr 35 not out)
At Jinnah Stadium Gujranwala, Saga 292 in 74.5 overs (Ashraf Ali 107, Kamran Younis 42, Shaiman Butt 39, Mustafa Basher 4-83, Usman Nabi 3-69) vs LEO International 0-0 in 0.2 overs.