Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Chakabva ton sets up Zimbabwe A win

Zimbabwe A 253 for 6 (Chakabva 132, Sibanda 52) beat Bangladesh A 236 (Islam 66, Sarkar 56, Kamungozi 4-24) by 17 runs

Regis Chakabva's maiden List A century helped Zimbabwe A to a 17-run win over Bangladesh A in the first one-day match in Fatullah. This is the visiting side's first win on tour after going down 2-0 in the two-match unofficial Test series.

Chakabva's 132 off 144 balls, with 13 boundaries and three sixes, was the backbone and enforcer of Zimbabwe A's 253 for 6 in 50 overs.

During his stay, Chakabva added 83 for the opening wicket with Brian Chari, 42 with Timycen Maruma for the third wicket and 120 for the fifth wicket with the captain Vusi Sibanda, who struck 52 off 67 balls with four boundaries and a six.

The home side were dealt an early blow when Abul Hasan, making a comeback from a back injury that put him out for 18 months, had to go off after bowling just 2.5 overs due to a neck injury. Legpsinner Jubair Hossain and Mominul Haque took two wickets each.

In reply, Bangladesh lost most of their top order by the 11th over, after which one of the openers, Soumya Sarkar added 63 for the fourth wicket with Naeem Islam. Sarkar made 56 off 80 balls while Islam top scored with an 85-ball 66 that had five boundaries. Islam added 56 for the fifth wicket with Mosaddek Hossain who fell short of a fifty by just one run.

He added 70 rapid runs for the seventh wicket with Elias Sunny but once the latter fell in the 48th over, Bangladesh A had a mini-collapse that stalled the momentum created by Sunny and Mosaddek and ultimately cost them.

For Zimbabwe A, legbreak bowler Tafadzwa Kamungozi took four wickets while Tawanda Mupariwa and Cuthbert Musoko also chipped in with three and two wickets respectively.

Bangladesh A 2nd innings Partnerships

1st11Shahriar NafeesSoumya Sarkar
2nd15Marshall AyubSoumya Sarkar
3rd10Mominul HaqueSoumya Sarkar
4th63Naeem IslamSoumya Sarkar
5th56Naeem IslamMosaddek Hossain
6th2Nurul HasanMosaddek Hossain
7th70Elias SunnyMosaddek Hossain
8th7Abul HasanMosaddek Hossain
9th2Mohammad ShahidMosaddek Hossain
10th0Mosaddek HossainJubair Hossain