Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Benn shines in thrilling West Indies A victory

West Indies A 131 for 7 (18 overs) beat India A 130 (18 overs) by three wickets

Sulieman Benn carried West Indies A to a rather unlikely three-wicket win against India A in the first Twenty20 in Trinidad. Benn struck two sixes off two balls to help his team snatch the 15 they required off the final over, bowled by Bhuvneshwar Kumar in Trinidad.

Until then, Bhuvneshwar had been key to India keeping the hosts in check in their chase of 131 from 18 overs - the game was shortened because the start was delayed due to rain. Bhuvneshwar had struck in his first over, the fifth of the chase, bowling West Indies opener Kieran Powell for 10. Not long after, he had the other opener, Nkrumer Bonner, also bowled, and trapped Jason Mohammed - who was trying to play across the line - lbw for 6. While Jonathan Carter tried to rebuild, India kept the pressure on and then Rohit Sharma consolidated their position in the match, taking two wickets in the 16th over - Carter caught for 35, and Jason Holder stumped first ball. Ashok Dinda followed up by conceding only four runs in the penultimate over, but Benn was to have the final say in things.

Earlier, India's innings was built around a half-century from Rohit. They looked set to pile up a stiffer total, but two three-wicket overs kept them to 130. First, Benn got Rohit - soon after he had completed his fifty - Wriddhiman Saha and Jalaj Saxena to help West Indies pull the game back in the 15th. In the final over, Jason Holder took out Shami Ahmed and Rahul Sharma, before Dinda was run out to end India's innings.

W. Indies A 2nd innings Partnerships

1st34KOA PowellNE Bonner
2nd10DP HyattNE Bonner
3rd11DP HyattJN Mohammed
4th11DP HyattJL Carter
5th10JL CarterCD Barnwell
6th33JL CarterJO Holder
7th0SJ BennJO Holder
8th22SJ BennGE Mathurin