Edwards blitz gives England Women series

England Women 219 for 6 in 26 overs (Edwards 137*) beat New Zealand Women 164 (Satterthwaite 69, Shrubsole 3-28) by 59 runs (D/L method)

Driven by a blistering century from Charlotte Edwards, England Women cruised to a 59-run win against New Zealand Women in Lincoln, sealing the three-match one-day series 2-0 in the process. Edwards, the captain, picked up on her fine form from the previous match, stroking 137 not out from 88 balls in the rain-hit match that was reduced to 26 overs a side.

England's total was built around two substantial partnerships - the first was a 98-run stand between Edwards and Sarah Taylor for the second wicket that came at nine-and-a-half runs an over, followed by a 47-run fourth-wicket partnership, complied at over 10 an over. Such was Edwards dominance, that Lydia Greenway contributed but nine runs to the latter stand.

Chasing an imposing revised target of 224, a target that required them to score at 8.62 runs an over, New Zealand cracked. Five of their top six got into double figures, but only Amy Satterthwaite could manage a half-century, top scoring with 69 as the hosts folded for 164. New-ball bowlers Anya Shrubsole was the most effective of England's bowlers, claiming 3 for 28.

"We went out there with a mindset of Twenty20 cricket and it paid off," Edwards said after the match. "It was great to contribute myself. I feel I'm in the form of my life.

"It's a great wicket here, so we went out and got stuck in and to get 219 was a fantastic effort. We knew that would always put New Zealand under pressure. We bowled and fielded well on a good pitch. It was difficult conditions in the wind and it was cold, but the bowlers bowled well with Anya up front."

The final match of the series will be played at the same venue on March 5.

NZ Women 2nd innings Partnerships

44KJ MartinLR Doolan
6SW BatesLR Doolan
3LR DoolanAE Satterthwaite
42AE SatterthwaiteAM Peterson
19AE SatterthwaiteKT Perkins
31SJ McGlashanAE Satterthwaite
5AE SatterthwaiteKE Ebrahim
11AE SatterthwaiteMJG Nielsen
1RH CandyMJG Nielsen
2RH CandyLMM Tahuhu