Mirpur, March 14 - 17, 2016, Bangladesh Cricket League
(T:366) 306 & 257/2

Match drawn

Player Of The Match
131, 33 & 1/37

Central Zone march to second BCL title

Central Zone lifted the Bangladesh Cricket League title - their second after their triumph in the inaugural edition in 2012-13 - following their drawn game against North Zone in Mirpur

Mohammad Isam
Mohammad Isam
Marshall Ayub raises his bat after scoring a match-saving hundred, Dhaka Metropolis v Khulna Division, National Cricket League, Tier 1, Dhaka, October 6, 2015

File photo: Marshall Ayub scored an unbeaten 101 to cap off a successful tournament as the highest run-getter  •  Raton Gomes/BCB

Central Zone sealed their second Bangladesh Cricket League title, following a drawn game against North Zone in Mirpur.
Central Zone had won the inaugural BCL tournament in the 2012-13 season, before South Zone won it in the following two seasons - 2013-14 and 2014-15.
Central Zone, who were on top of the points table at the start of this game, became champions despite ending the match with nine points as opposed to North Zone, who collected 11.
North Zone were bowled out for 378 batting first, with Farhad Hossain making 131. Mohammad Sharif took 6 for 105.
In reply, Central Zone were bowled out for 306, with Raqibul Hasan (63) and Shuvagata Hom (51) scoring fifties. Left-arm pacer Shafaq Al Zabir, right-arm medium pacer Ariful Haque, and offspinner Mahmudul Hasan took three wickets each.
North Zone declared their second innings on 293 for 8. Nazmul Hossain Shanto made 55, while Jahurul Islam was unbeaten on 83. Tanveer Haider took 4 for 66.
Marshall Ayub finished off the first-class season with an unbeaten 101 as Central Zone made 257 for 2 on the final day. Ayub finished as tournament's highest run-getter with 562 runs at 56.20.
East Zone, who were second on the points table, ended up drawing their game against South Zone.
Alok Kapali's third hundred of the tournament lifted East Zone to 442 after they elected to bat. Liton Das, Mominul Haque, the captain, and the No. 10 Iftekhar Sajjad struck fifties. Moynul Islam took 4 for 83.
South Zone replied with 601, with Mosaddek Hossain's 152, and a power-packed 146 from Sohag Gazi, leading the charge. Opener Shahriar Nafees missed out on a century by 10 runs, while Farhad Reza made 72. Kapali took 3 for 63.
In the remaining 41.3 overs, Liton struck an unbeaten 103, while Irfan Sukkur made 75 not out as East Zone ended the game on 189 for no loss.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

Cent Z (BD) Innings
<1 / 3>
Bangladesh Cricket League