New Zealand A 470 (Raval 152, Nicholls 144*, Vandersay 5-107) and 229 for 6 decl (Nicholls 88, de Boorder 86*, Fernando 3-72) drew with Sri Lanka A 358 (Dickwella 128, Jayasundera 99, Munro 3-37) and 274 for 6 (Roshen 120*, Vithanage 88, Wagner 4-79)

The first unofficial Test between New Zealand A and Sri Lanka A in Christchurch saw four centuries, with the match ending in a draw. Chasing 342, Sri Lanka A lost their openers early as Neil Wagner produced a double-strike in the tenth over. Five overs later, No.3 Minod Bhanuka was dismissed by Colin Munro but a 137-run partnership between Kithuruwan Vithanage and Roshen Silva propped their team up. Roshen struck 14 fours and one six and remained unbeaten on 120 when stumps were called on the final day with the Sri Lanka A score reading 274 for 6.

Having been inserted, New Zealand A began strongly and ran up 470 on the back of centuries from opener Jeet Raval (152) and Henry Nicholls (144). Legspinner Jeffrey Vandersay sparked a middle-order wobble and claimed figures of 5 for 107.

In reply, opener Udara Jayasundera ensured that Sri Lanka A had a solid start of their own, though the opener opener Dhananjaya de Silva and Bhanuka were out off successive balls. Niroshan Dickwella then struck 128 off 144 balls to reduce the first-innings deficit to 112.

Nicholls followed up his unbeaten century with 88 as the hosts declared at 229 to set Sri Lanka A a target of 342. Wagner, who took 1 for 80 in the first innings, had better returns in the second innings, taking four wickets including that of Vithanage and Nickwella.