Matches (11)
IND v SA (1)
Asia Cup (3)
Shield (3)
AUS v WI (1)
WI-W v NZ-W (2)
Legends League (1)

Akhil Kumar, Nicholas Manohar dismantle Japan Under-19s

Mukherjee and Lakra skittle Nigeria for 145 and set up UAE's thumping victory

Jonathan Figy plays a drive, Canada v UAE, Group D, Under-19 World Cup, Bloemfontein, January 18, 2020

Jonathan Figy plays a drive  •  ICC via Getty

Canada 300 for 7 (Manohar 101*, Walia 40*, Dobell 2-52) beat Japan 118 (Date 59, Akhil Kumar 6-46) by 182 runs
Opening batsman Neel Date scored Japan's first fifty at the World Cup, but seamer Akhil Kumar picked up 6 for 46, including the wicket of the half-centurion, to help Canada clinch their 13th place play-off semi-final. Kumar's spell triggered a terminal collapse as Japan went from 73 for 1 to 118 all out in pursuit of 301.
Five Japanese batsmen, including debutant Reiji Suto, bagged ducks and barring Date, no other batsman passed 20.
Earlier in the day, after being inserted, Canada rode on their wicketkeeper-opener Nicholas Manohar's 101 off 102 balls to put up 300 for 7. Kento Dobell, Tushar Chaturvedi, and Leon Mehlig took two wickets apiece for Japan, but a series of contributions from the middle order and Manohar's blows at the top meant Canada were always ahead in the contest.
Kumar's figures, the second best in the tournament, then sewed up a 182-run victory for Canada.
UAE 146 for 3 (Sharafu 59, Uboh 2-23) beat Nigeria 145 (Olaleye 31, Mukherjee 4-35, Lakra 3-20) by seven wickets
Offspinner Rishabh Mukherjee and left-arm fingerspinner Aryan Lakra, who took the new ball, took seven wickets between them to skittle Nigeria for 145. Their No. 3 Alishan Sharafu then struck an unbeaten 59 off 60 balls to ensure that UAE chased the target down with seven wickets and more then 20 overs to spare.
After being asked to bat, Nigeria had a fairly decent start with the openers Olayinka Olaleye and Sulaimon Runsewe putting on 33 for the first wicket. It was Ali Nasser who made the breakthrough when he had Runsewe caught by Lakra for 14 off 22 balls. Olaleye and No.3 Miracle Akhigbe then pushed Nigeria's score to 70 by the 17th over. From there, they lost 9 for 75 to be bundled out in 46.4 overs. Mukherjee came away with 4 for 35 while Lakra took 3 for 20.
UAE then suffered a wobble at the top and were reduced to 36 for 2 in the eighth over, but Sharafu and Jonathan Figy, who had hit a century earlier in the tournament, then steadied the innings with a 77-run stand. Figy holed out for 28 off 45 balls, but Sharafu and Ansh Tandon finished the chase off without any further damage.
Sri Lanka 277 for 6 (Dananjaya 66, Wickramasinghe 59, Davidson 2-31) beat Scotland 149 for 8 (Guy 31, Wijesinghe 3-31) by 97 runs (D/L method)
Sri Lanka captain Nipun Dananjaya, Ahan Wickramasinghe, and Navod Paranavithana hit fifties to set up the side's victory against Scotland in a rain-hit clash. After Sri Lanka put up 277 for 6, wet weather interrupted Scotland's innings and consequently their target was adjusted to 247 from 40 overs, according to the D/L method. Scotland never really got going in the chase and mustered 149 for 8. Seamer Chamindu Wijesinghe was the pick of the bowlers for Sri Lanka, returning 3 for 31 in his nine overs.
After opting to bat, Sri Lanka had a sound start, with Paranavithana and Kamil Mishara adding 90 for the opening wicket. Mishara fell 11 short of a fifty, but Paranavithana and later Wickramasinghe and Dananjaya reached the landmark to give their side the impetus in the middle and end overs.
Dilshan Madushanka, who had scooped up a five-wicket haul against Nigeria, extended his form, getting Scotland's openers inside the eighth over. Wijesinghe and Kavindu Nadeeshan made further inroads into the Scotland line-up as the chase spiraled out of control. Captain Angus Guy top-scored with 31, but it came off 72 balls, and the rapidly rising asking rate was too much to overcome for Scotland.